close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Ad-aware 6 vs Ad-aware se

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Wayne02, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. Wayne02

    Wayne02

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Location:
    Washington
    I've been running Ad-aware 6 (free) on my machine for a number of years now. Every time I run update to get any updated definitions it comes back with the message no updates available. Yet it still seems to catch viruses.

    On the other hand, I installed Ad-aware on my sons machine and it says it is Ad-aware se. The title says Ad-aware sweden or some such thing. This Ad-aware usually finds updates and catches viruses as well.

    What's the deal here... what free Ad-aware should I be using??????

    Thanks
    Wayne
     
  2. weiser09

    weiser09 Millennium Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1999
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Get yourself Adaware SE. It's the same as Adaware 6, just a newer version. Version 6 no longer is updatable. So if you are using version 6, you aren't as well protected as your son's computer is.
     

  3. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lurkerville
  4. Wayne02

    Wayne02

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Location:
    Washington
    Thanks guys. Yup, Ad-aware se works a little better... found 354 threats. ;P ;P ;g Mostly data miners, some malware and some misc.

    Funny how you can run spybot (with updates), and ms virus programs and still find a bunch with adaware or vice versa. Guess you need a multiple pronged defense for this garbage.

    Wayne
     
  5. Toyman

    Toyman

    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Wayne, viri and spyware are two different things.
     
  6. NRA_guy

    NRA_guy Unreconstructed

    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Location:
    Mississippi, CSA
    I wondered if anyone noticed.
     
  7. David_G17

    David_G17 /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    yeah, virii are better coded.
     
  8. Wayne02

    Wayne02

    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Location:
    Washington
    Yup, you are of course correct. I should be more careful when throwing around words for all this evil stuff.
     
  9. CranialCrusader

    CranialCrusader

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Location:
    TX
    It was when after running 10 (ten) anti-spyware, anti-virus, hardware and software firewalls and I STILL had spyware on Windows XP (everything up to date too). All the programs would come up "clean" too... that I gave up and switched to Linux for my "net access" computer. Windows remains on my Desktop (after reformat) but it is NOT ALLOWED to access the internet (the ethernet cable is unplugged from the router).

    CranialCrusader
     
  10. nickg

    nickg

    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    no doubt. i run 3 or 4 spyware programs and one will find something the others didn't sometimes.
     
  11. younggenious

    younggenious

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Location:
    Southern TX
    Just go to lavasoftusa.com and you'll know which version to get, because it's the only version offered anymore.



    Oh, and btw, SE stand for Second Edition. ;)
     
  12. Bruce Foreman

    Bruce Foreman Millennium Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1999
    Location:
    San Angelo TX USA
    Is there anything free that will root out and get rid of adtomi? I can run Ad Aware which will find 3 to 5 adtomi "malware" critters. After these are deleted I go back on the web and within a few minutes am getting popups that the firewall will not catch.

    I know I must have something imbedded on my hard drive that keeps "reactivating" these critters but cannot find it.

    Operating system is Windows XP Home Edition.

    Bruce Foreman
     
  13. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Location:
    SW Oregon