close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AD-Aware 6.0

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by rhedley, Aug 6, 2004.

  1. rhedley

    rhedley POCKET HOLSTERS

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Location:
    WINTER HAVEN, FL., USA
    Can this program be double crossing me. It claims to rid you of *Data miners*, but my Norton keeps picking it up as a *threat*. I have a large file on it now, as I have been instructing Norton to exclude it. My Machine is acting strange, so I am searching for the problem..
     
  2. powernoodle

    powernoodle

    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    6,142
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Location:
    secret underground bunker
    I can't help you other than to say that I run Norton's, which updates daily, as well as Ad-Aware from time to time, and have never had the slightest glitch.

    Ad-Aware did erronously ask me to remove a couple of Microsoft files of some sort, which I did. Screwed things up until I restored the files using Ad-Aware. For giggles, you may want to go into Ad-Aware and look at the list of things it has removed to see if you have mistakenly removed something you shouldn't have. Thats likely not your problem, but its the only one I'v encountered.

    best regards
     

  3. Halo

    Halo Millennium Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Norton may be finding the things that Ad-Aware puts into "quarantine."

    I am not sure how it works, since I don't use Norton, but it's also possible that it uses some heuristic method that flags any program that traverses and modifies the registry (which Ad-Aware does when it is seeking and removing certain spyware).
     
  4. SDBettas

    SDBettas

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    As it's such a resource hog. Switched to Panda Antivirus and am very happy.
     
  5. rhedley

    rhedley POCKET HOLSTERS

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Location:
    WINTER HAVEN, FL., USA
    I am reading all this, it's very helpful. Please continue with anything you can think of..

    Thanks ALL.
     
  6. Alchemy

    Alchemy Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,218
    Likes Received:
    2,405
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon..
    Panda has not let one iota of virus into my computer. I can't
    recommend it enough!
     
  7. Halo

    Halo Millennium Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 1999
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Panda is good, although their customer service is terrible. I bought it online, with a link to download it. When I installed it, everything was in Spanish even though I had selected English. The first attempt to contact their customer support went ignored. A few weeks later I contacted them again, and they replied (two weeks later) with a link to a utility that would reset the language to English. It did not work.

    I just went back to McAfee, which has worked well and is less obtrusive than either Panda or Norton. But I have a beef with them too, regarding a mail-in rebate rip off. That's a whole separate rant. :)
     
  8. NMGlocker

    NMGlocker BOOM headshot

    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Location:
    New Mexico
    AVG Anti-Virus, it's free, it works, and it plays well with other programs including Spy-Bot and Ad-Aware 6.
    After installing those three programs along with ZoneAlarm, and switching to Firebird/Thunderbird for my internet and email I have been completely virus/spyware/pop-up/malware/etc. free.
    ^c
     
  9. md2lgyk

    md2lgyk

    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Location:
    WV
    I second all the above (except the browser). I use Opera.
     
  10. Ffolkes

    Ffolkes

    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Location:
    Canada
    What has to be done to get AVG to send me the activation number for their antivirus software? I downloaded a copy over a week ago and am supposed to be emailed the number. I finally had to get a number off the net to install it. It's working ok, but it makes me wonder how much effort is put into the virus defenitions if I can't even get them to give me a code on time... I also recommend F-Prot as a virus scanner, very reliable.
    __
    ffolkes.
     
  11. berniew

    berniew Liberty

    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Location:
    MN
  12. troyboy30

    troyboy30

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    will it install over 6.0 or u need to remove then re-install? Looks like a whole diff product?
     
  13. berniew

    berniew Liberty

    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Location:
    MN
    IT asks if you want to uninstall as part of the install. I would probably uninstall first
     
  14. NMGlocker

    NMGlocker BOOM headshot

    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Location:
    New Mexico
    My AVG activation number came almost instantly.
    If you have a SPAM filter installed, or your ISP has a filter installed it may have been intercepted.
    Try again and make sure your SPAM filters aren't catching it.
     
  15. MB-G26

    MB-G26 Non-existent STUPID GURL Lifetime Member

    Messages:
    7,739
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Location:
    Missing Sharon
    http://www.webtechgeek.com/IndexWTG.htm#adexp
    http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,117372,00.asp


    m