close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Ad-Aware 6.0 (update problems.) Uninstall?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Zoolander, Nov 9, 2004.

  1. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    [​IMG]

    STOPS UPDATING AT ONLY 5%

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Should I UN-INSTALL?
     
  2. pizzaaguy

    pizzaaguy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Glad you posted this.
    I'm getting the same thing.
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    The last update for Ad-Aware 6 was a week or two ago.Support was ended and there will be no more updates for Ad-Aware 6 (181).What OS are you using?Some antivirus programs won't allow updates.The latest Ad-Aware is Ad-Aware SE 1.05.I run CCleaner which finds most everything that Ad-Aware finds and it's very quick.Then I run Spybot.If I run Ad-Aware after that it normally doesn't find anything.I know there is some reason people keep Ad-Aware 6 but I don't know what it is.
     
  4. pizzaaguy

    pizzaaguy

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,683
    Likes Received:
    2,711
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Just got this from another web site:



    The latest version of AdAware is "SE v.1.05" . There is going to be updates of the reffile for v.6.181 until all customers of the Plus and Pro version have had a chance to download the new version. If you have an older version than 181, you wont be able to add a new reffile.
    If you have the Personal edition (free version) I suggest you download the current version as soon as possible.
    Link here : http://www.lavasoft.de/

    Before you install the new version, go to your control panel and "add/remove programs" and uninstall the old program. Then go to "C:\Programs\Lavasoft\" and remove the Lavasoft folder together with everything in it. A new will be created.
     
  5. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
  6. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Try CCleaner it works with Spybot great and it's very small.
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Ad-Aware and Spybot do find slightly different things.If you have space I think it's best to keep both.
     
  8. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    There is a bug in the empty temp files in Win98SE and maybe other Windows that was never fixed.CCleaner also gets rid of a lot of adware/spyware very quickly.Use the default settings.
     
  9. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I use CCleaner on 98SE,2000 and XP.It takes out a bunch of cookies that are adware too.
     
  10. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    I have Win_XP_Home.

    I'm still using Service Pack 1.

    I have Service Pack 2 on Cd-Rom, I had Microsoft send me one for free. I have not installed SP2 because I don't want any problems or potential conflicts.

    Anybody still using SP1 like me?
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I have XP home with Sp-1.I downloaded the SP-2 CD but I haven't installed it.It might be out of date compared to the online update.I'll set a system restore point before I install SP-2.
     
  12. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    Cool, give us a full report after you've installed SP2.

    ;e

    I'll take my cue from you.
     
  13. Zoolander

    Zoolander Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    I downloaded, installed and ran Ad-aware SE PE 1.05.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Heh.
     
  14. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Make sure you get the updates for it.It looks like you have.
     
  15. podwich

    podwich

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    MI
    Uh, dude. I think your computer hates you.