A Question for Baseball Gurus

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by IndyGunFreak, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    27,929
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm not a huge baseball fan, but on occasion, I do enjoy catching a game.

    As luck would have it, I started watching Humbers "Perfect Game" the other night around the 4th. Amazing pitching performance.

    My question: I've noticed many times in games past, a batter will sometimes try to "steal first". This always happens when the count is full, and the catcher loses the ball (similar to what happened at the end of the perfect game) Since the batter was ruled to have swung, and the pitch went wild, the catcher got the ball, and threw him out before he got to first. Why wasn't this a strike out since it was a 3rd strike?

    Hopefully that made sense, but it was the best way I could phrase this. I've wondered about this for years, and never knew anybody to ask.
     
  2. skanless

    skanless IPA ISLAND

    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    As i understand it... it was a none caught ball, making it fair play because it was in the zone and batter made a swing. Therefore its still fair play.

    The batter may attempt to advance to first on a third strike that isn't caught if (1) first base is not occupied or (2) there are two out.

    The only time the batter is called out on a third strike that isn't legally caught is if 1st base is occupied before there are two out. In that situation, the B-R is not entitled to attempt to advance to 1st.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012

  3. Easterbrook

    Easterbrook Wagon Burner

    Messages:
    9,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Location:
    In my teepee.
    On strike three, if the catcher fails to catch the ball the batter is not out and can run to first. The play at first is a force out, so the catcher can either tag the batter, or throw to first.
     
  4. TSAX

    TSAX USAF Vet

    Messages:
    10,161
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    What he said............also sometimes when the ball is bounced and the catcher blocked it and the batter swung and missed, sometimes the batter dosen't care to run to first and just walk off upset. I dont know if there is an exact rule that says you have to tag him or throw to first in this situation but the batter is usually out.







    :50cal:
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    27,929
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    Thank you, but.. Why is this?

    If it was a strike, and it was strike 3.. what does it matter if the catcher caught the ball or not?

    I dunno, the rule doesn't make much sense to me..

    IGF
     
  6. airmotive

    airmotive Tin Kicker

    Messages:
    10,383
    Likes Received:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Debris Field
    It's just one of the more quirky rules of baseball...like the infield fly rule.

    Also...the strikeout DOES count for the pitcher's stats....but no out is recorded if the batter reaches first base.

    Mario Soto once had four strike outs in one inning while pitching for the Cincinnati Reds.
     
  7. GLWyandotte

    GLWyandotte Señor Member

    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    96
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Between Heaven and Hell
    At the end of the game, Ryan's "check" swing was called a strike. AJ dropped it and had to throw him out. Ryan, rather than run to 1st nearly stood there and argued the call. As soon as he was thrown out, he came right back to argue.
    I think the ump got caught in the moment and wanted to be a part of history. I don't have a horse in the race, but that sure didn't look like a swing to me and they aren't making an effort to have a replay from a different angle available.
     
  8. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    27,929
    Likes Received:
    3,806
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    I disagree, it looked like a swing to me.

    The runner wouldn't have made it anyway, but.. I've just always wondered why that rule was there.

    Guess like airmotive said, it's just one of those quirky rules.
     
  9. Dennis in MA

    Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

    Messages:
    42,701
    Likes Received:
    2,856
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Location:
    Taunton, MA
    Infield Fly is designed not to give the defensive team an unfair advantage. It freezes everyone on the bags and assures a double or triple play just by dropping the ball.

    I remember years and years and years ago, Roberto Alomar pulling a double-play that way. It was awesome. (Not an IFR because only one dude on base and I think no outs.) He was right next to second, acted as if he was going to catch it. He let it drop, picked it up, stepped on second and threw to first. It was amazing to watch. Runner at first couldn't move and risk being doubled up. Fill the bags and you can be out of an inning too quickly.