A Glock 26 (Carry with or without a round chambered? )

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by JokerOne, Aug 24, 2015.

1. JokerOne

JokerOne

I'm sure this question has been beat to death here, and please feel free to link to anything that you believe will help.

Just took and passed my CCW class.
    I was asked during the class if I planned on carrying with or with a round chambered and the instructor said it was a personal preference.

My background is, I was in the Marine reserves years ago. 0311. In the field on patrol we would keep a round in the chamber. On the range the only time we would chamber is when we were ready to fire with the weapon pointed down range. I'm conformable with that.

I have been studying Martial arts since 1982. Not as flexible and quick as I use to be, but I believe my first instinct would be that over drawing and shooting if attacked with a knife. This would be just out of habit/instinct. I might not even remember I have a loaded gun on me until it was all over.

During our drawing and dry firing at the class. I believe I was always one of the first to be able to pull the trigger after racking the slide and aiming. The rest of the class were practicing as if a round was already chambered.

I'm rarely in a situation that I would feel unsafe during my daily activities.

So my question is this, given my background am I a naive idiot to carry without a round in the chamber?

thanks in advance.

2. JimBianchi

JimBianchi Da Da CLM

Carry at what ever level you are comfortable with.

BUT...

You will be better served in the long run getting comfortable and practicing with a round chambered.

Lots of real world videos of guys getting shot racking the slide, I'm sure someone will post one.

janice6, Glockgeezer, Eagle02 and 4 others like this.

3. Jake Starr

Jake Starr

Carry how you are/were trained and with what you are comfortable/confident.