A few photos from Peru

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by jtmac, Oct 5, 2010.

1. jtmac

jtmac Señor Member

I've been traveling to Peru off and on since 2006, and this year I've been there in June and spent the entire month of September. In times past, I've either lacked a decent camera or never had good pictures of scenery.

I still didn't have a decent camera with me in September, but I *did* have an iPhone 4. And then I figured I'd go ahead and upload a few photos taken with my old iPhone 3G. I am... not proud of these shots. These are just a few things I manage to snap quickly along the way. They are also unprocessed, as I'm so swamped that if I sat down to work with them this post would not happen.

July:

Wooden bus in Iquitos
    [​IMG]

A picture of a longboat in Iquitos adjacent to our own, with a scenic garbage-strewn mud bank used as a dock.
    [​IMG]

Dinner sitting in the boat.
    [​IMG]

Just another boat picture for perspective, taken at rest stop.
    [​IMG]

The village we stayed at.
    [​IMG]

And back in Lima, we managed to get a tour of the presidential palace. This doesn't really happen any more for anyone but schools and special guests. I'm not sure how we got in. The entirety of the inside of the palace is works of art. Every piece of furniture, every archway, every floor is a genuine work of art. Unfortunately, my phone camera doesn't do any of it justice. We happened to be there for the changing of the guards, which I've always been badgered into trying to capture from the other side of iron bars despite my protests that these things don't photograph well through iron bars. I FINALLY get a chance to see inside this amazing, art-filled palace and see the changing of the guard up close, and all I have is a stinking. phone. camera. They left the DSLR behind because they like their tiny, portable cameras. Nevermind that it's always been my job to carry around and use the camera. ARG. I want to cry just thinking about it.

[​IMG]