close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

9mm Bullet Diameter .355 or .356 ? Help!

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by FyreCalG17, Aug 20, 2011.

1. FyreCalG17

FyreCalG17 Gen4 Fondler

Ok, let me start by saying that I'm new to reloading.

I was searching online for bullets and I kept running across different bullet diameters for 9mm.
    Rainier - .355
    Montana Gold - .355 & .356
    Berry's - .356

So I'm wondering, what is the ACTUAL bore diameter of a stock Glock 9mm barrel since it has the polygonal rifling instead of grooves?

Will the Berry's bullets with the larger diameter require more powder to push them at the same velocity as other plated bullets such as Rainier?

2. DWARREN123

DWARREN123 Grumpy Old Guy Silver Member

My first thought is to try different diameters to see which ones work best in your firearm. Due to many things some may like .355 while others will work better with .356.
    As for powder charge the it should not be much different since the diameter of the bullet (for caliber) is not as important as weight of bullet.
    Remember to always start near medium and work from there in reloading.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2011

3. FyreCalG17

FyreCalG17 Gen4 Fondler

But both diameters SHOULD fit through my barrel?

4. ron59

ron59 Bustin Caps

jacketed are usually. 355
    lead is. 356

guess plated is closer to lead?

5. DWARREN123

Both diameters should fit, jacketed will be the smaller (usually) .355 and plated may be either while lead can be .356 or .357 in diameter. Some firearms like different sizes so shooting a few thru yours will tell you which is more accurate.

6. dkf

dkf

You can shoot either .355" or .356" bullets thru your Glock. Some jacketed bullets (like the Hornady HAP bullets) are .356" diameter also.

7. polizei1

polizei1 It WAS Quack

I've been using Precision Delta bullets, they are .355".

8. Meathead9

Meathead9

Here's something else to add to the confusion.