90 series

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by MNBud, Mar 18, 2020.

1. MNBud

MNBud

Can anyone steer me to a video on the disassembly of a 90 series 1911. The particular one I’m having issues with is 10MM but I don’t think that should matter.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Jim Watson

Jim Watson

You have a Double Eagle?

3. MNBud

MNBud

Yes,I believe that is what it is. A little background- I am a retired machinist working at a gun shop and mainly we get gun cleanings and sight replacements but I have worked on many series 70 and 80 1911’s. I have been given the option of turning down anything I don’t feel comfortable working on.
    This pistol just appeared to be a challenge.
    The firing pin is there and in good condition, however the small lever/ bar on the top of the frame on the right side which I believe should be spring loaded is just laying down in its slot, it is free to move but doesn’t pop up which is what I believe is what it should be doing .

4. Jim Watson

Jim Watson

All I can say is to look it up under the name of Colt Double Eagle.

5. bac1023

bac1023

Had one for a while in 45ACP

6. Bradley T

Bradley T

I wish I could get one. I remember wanting one back in the 90's. Nice guns. You Tube probably has a lot of videos on the Double Eagle pistols. I always assumed it takes down like any Colt's; cock the hammer and undo the recoil spring, slide stop lever out, etc.

Last edited: Mar 19, 2020
  7. bac1023

bac1023

Eh, not sure I’d call them nice. Fairly crude

8. MNBud

MNBud

The take down for cleaning is the same as any 70 or 80 series but my problems are in the frame disassembly, and it is totally different. This is a single action/ double action with a de-cocker.
    No, you tube has no videos on the frame dissemble, Brownells doesn't have a schematic either.

9. FullClip

FullClip Native Mainiac CLM

There is a schematic at this link. Think you may be able to enlarge it and maybe of some help i hope.