7.62 mm adequate for deer or hogs out to 75-100 meters?

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by jhokie, Jun 22, 2005.

1. jhokie

jhokie

I'm looking to get a cheaper AK or AKM for my first rifle... is this going to be ok for hunting deer or possibly hogs out to 100 meters?

If so, what type of load should I look into getting? I have no hunting experience, so I definitely don't want to spend alot on the rifle, and the AK could also double as a great self defense/survival rifle. Also, I figure the ammo would be a heck of alot cheaper than other alternatives. Thanks for any responses.

2. nickE10mm

nickE10mm F.S.F.O.S.

7.62 X 54mm (aka .308 Win).... YES.

7.62 X 39mm (aka AK-47).... probably not.

3. GlockSpeed31

GlockSpeed31

Ummm, 7.62 x 54 is not .308, it is generally a Russian rimmed round.
    308 Winchester is 7.62 x 51mm.

Just to be accurate.

GlockSpeed31

4. jhokie

jhokie

Well, I've read threads about 10mm handguns and even less being used on deer at close ranges, so why not an AK?

5. nickE10mm

nickE10mm F.S.F.O.S.

sorry you're right...i got distracted during this posting earlier.

WHAT HE SAID! ;)

6. bustedknee

bustedknee The Snowflakes have invaded GT

If we are being accurate... the 7.62 X 39 has identical ballistics as the trusted old 30-30 round. Only the 7.62 shoots a pointy bullet which should give it a slight advantage.

And the 30-30 has been a suitable round for deer, out to 150 yards, for many, many years.

7. noway

noway

{ 7.62 X 39mm (aka AK-47).... probably not.
    }

I have to laught at that.

I;ve seen hogs take with much less. If you get a good expanding bulet and fire it from a AK, it should be just as good as anything a .243win or bigger can do. THe std FMJ offering also works and would be a better option than a 5.56mm.

Hogs aren't some magical beast that can defeat rifles. ;)

8. Michigun

Michigun live free or die

The 7.62x39mm is a fine hunting round.