close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

56k dial up question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Another Miller, May 25, 2007.

  1. Another Miller

    Another Miller prankster

    Messages:
    2,587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    Everytime someone tries calling my phone while Im on the net, it creates browsing problems and sometimes, I get kicked off.Is there a way to fix this using win 98.They get a busy signal and so keep trying which while im on the net,causes more problems.I dont want internet call waiting,Id like to add a program that gives them a ring instead of a busy signal so that they stop.



    I have another unlisted phone line for regular calls,just some annoying sales people who call my computer line.Any ideas?
     
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp

  3. lens

    lens

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    Northeast
    Sounds like you have call waiting. You need to disable it for each time you dial out. There is a way to set that up in the dialing out directions. It's been so long since I've used dial-up (and I didn't have call waiting back then) that I can't give you any further specifics right now.
     
  4. Another Miller

    Another Miller prankster

    Messages:
    2,587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    Used to have internet call waiting and call waiting but havent had it ina very long time.My wifes friend likes to call us on the computer number,probably because she is bored.She says she cant get through because of a busy signal and I tell her thats why we have another line,she does it anyways.oh well.I get alot of wrong numbers as well and hang up calls,in spite of getting an answering service to take the calls on the computer line when Im not surfing the net.


    I didnt know if there was a way to set the computer line to ring like nobodys home instead of a busy signal.thanks.


    Maybe theres something left of the call waiting that still is in my computer?anyway to know?
     
  5. srhoades

    srhoades

    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    It's been a long time but I think *70 before your dialup string will disable call waiting.
     
  6. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Messages:
    26,834
    Likes Received:
    2,198
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'm pretty sure you're right. If you have another line that family and friends can reach you on, and the PC's line only gets calls from Telemarketers, just disable Call waiting on it.

    IGF
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    You add the *70 or whatever is required in your area to the internet dial up number for your internet connection. It sounds like you don't have call waiting now if the caller is getting a busy signal but it sounds like you once had call waiting. if you have a call waiting modem you can do many things and stay connected. If the line is just for the PC and you think you have had call waiting disabled by the phone company on that line you might contact the phone company and see if they can sort out the line and service.
     
  8. ETG31

    ETG31

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Indiana
    Dial up? what is this Dial up you speak of. :supergrin: :tongueout: :wavey:
     
  9. Another Miller

    Another Miller prankster

    Messages:
    2,587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I know,dial-up,blah.:supergrin: :supergrin:


    Im way behind the times.


    Thanks.