close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

4l60 and4l60E transmission help

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by notjustanothermini, Jan 22, 2012.

1. notjustanothermini

notjustanothermini 'OP'

i have a 1996 buick roadmaster wagon, it has a 4l60e trannsmision in it. It lost its reverse gear.

i also have a 1993 buick roadmaster wagon in rough shape body wise, but great motor and tranny. i believe it is a 4l60 in the 1993.

i know the 1996 has the electronic controlled tranny and the 1993 probably doesnt, so what would i need to do to make the 1993 4l60 tranny work as a replacement for the 1996 4l60e tranny.??

2. ilgunguygt

ilgunguygt Enslaved in IL

You need to pull the front pump out and gut both. Take the sun shell and any other needed parts from the 1993 and put in the 1996. I have taken who knows how many of those apart in my career, if they were both out of a car and on the bench, I could make one working tranny in about an hour, hour and a half.

3. notjustanothermini

notjustanothermini 'OP'

front pump. ??

so i cant take the solenoid off the 4l60e and put it on the 4l60 and turn it into a home brew 4l60e ( i need to replace the E with a non E 4l60)

4. ilgunguygt

ilgunguygt Enslaved in IL

I doubt your problem is solenoid related. No swapping of control parts will work. There is just the one pump, in the front.

5. Weiser 878

Weiser 878 R O C K E R

FWIW, my '93 Camaro had a 4L60E, so maybe yours does, too.

Otherwise, the shift control part isn't as simple as just swapping the solenoid...but you could probably make the non E tranny work with just a vacuum source

6. notjustanothermini

notjustanothermini 'OP'

yeah i was hoping that the 1993 also had a E in it, if so, just swap them out,

i got mixed info on wheather or not the 1993 roadmaster wagon has one or the other, some say yeah its a regular 4l60, then some others say it is a 4l60e.