40 cal Glocks? Tell me the truth!

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Eagle1, Feb 13, 2003.

1. Eagle1

Eagle1 Oh glockaholic!

With all of this talk about Kabooms and such, I am considering buying another 40 cal, and I like the G23. Please tell me the truth about this Kaboom stuff, and has anybody experienced any Kabooms or problems with their Glock 23?
    I am a police officer, and want to carry this as a backup/off duty weapon. I just dont like all this talk about the problems with the Glocks. Thanks.....;)

2. Bannack

Bannack

Eagle1 I have owned a carried a G-22 for many years since mine came out in 96... looked at it the other day and it needs the slide redone on the finish it has seen so much.

As for any KB's, I have never ever seen one or had one. I have been totally happy with my G-22.

I have been thinking about either getting a G-23 or G-27 though. And based on what I feel is the safest handgun available today, would not hesitate. :)

3. Jon509

Jon509

I haven't had my 23 but about 8 months, but I love it. I haven't heard about anyone I am in contact with having a kaboom with one and I haven't had one either. I carry my 23 for police and ccw.

Jon

4. Shady

Shady Under the tree

Buy one, shoot it, love it. As long as you're using jacketed factory ammo you'll never have to even think about it.

Quick description of the issues:
    The problems that do pop up from time to time (and it appears there's way more stories than occurences) are related to double charged handloads or using soft lead bullets.

The double charges create an obvious problem, (too much boom) which is exacerbated by the design of .40 as a high pressure round to begin with. The partially unsupported case doesn't deal well with the increased pressure.

Shooting soft lead bullets can leave deposits behind, that if not scrupulously cleaned can result in increased pressure and the afore mentioned problem.