.223 reloads in AR 15

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by norton, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. norton

    norton

    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    5,174
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Location:
    "Shot in the back, was they?".
    Had my Bushmaster Ar at the range this a.m. Fired 20 of my reloads. 1st round in the magazine would fire then eject, but the bolt failed to pick up my next round out of the mag. Pulled the handle back, and the next round chambers, fires, ejects, but again the bolt fails to pick up the next round, even though the bolt slides into battery.
    I had some factory ammo on hand, fired it. The bolt picked it up, chambered it, fired it, but the fired case then hung up in the ejection port. I pulled the handle back, cleared the round. Same thing again.

    I had two different magazines on hand. One is an aftermarket, the other the original from Bushmaster. Same thing with both.

    What gives?
     
  2. unclebob

    unclebob DFC, MSM, 13 Air Medals.

    Messages:
    8,463
    Likes Received:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    Location:
    Mary Esther FL
    What load are you using?
     

  3. Mark L Miller

    Mark L Miller

    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    First problem sounds like your reloads are too "light" not enough gas to fully cycle the gun. When factory ammo doesn't work, then we get into another situation. Is the gun brand new? Does the gun have an adjustable gas block? If no is the answer to both questions, then we need to talk about cleaning the gas tube & the chamber. Also make sure the bolt & carrier are well lubed. If the tube is clean, the stuff lubed, then you may have a gas leak.

    If the answer is "yes, the gun is new", it needs break in plus check lube. If it has an adjustable gas block, open it up some.

    Those are my best guesses. The problems sound like a gas problem to me. That or the gun is incredibly dirty.

    MLM
     
  4. Glocks&Ducs

    Glocks&Ducs

    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    My guess is that your extremely underpowered handloads gunked up your gas system. Your underpowered loads wouldn't cycle the rifle, and then your rifle was too dirty to cycle factory ammo. Just a guess though, as there is not enough information to go by.
     
  5. norton

    norton

    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    5,174
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Location:
    "Shot in the back, was they?".
    Remington 7 1/2 primers
    Hornady 55 grain FMJ BT
    BL-C2 25.1 grains
     
  6. dudel

    dudel

    Messages:
    12,690
    Likes Received:
    14,227
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Easy, too light a load for a gas operated gun.

    What load are you using, and where did you get it from? What's the weight of the projectile? How did you weigh the charge?

    If the load is correct, then I'd check for too light a crimp.
     
  7. dudel

    dudel

    Messages:
    12,690
    Likes Received:
    14,227
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Off the top, that load sounds within reason. I'd check for too light a crimp, which would keep the charge from burning fully and developing the pressure you need. I use the same projectile in my Varget loads. Those projectiles have a chanelure. They like a good firm crimp.

    How were you measuring the powder charge? You might have gotten some light loads.

    Gas operated guns can be trickier to reload for.
     
  8. Glocks&Ducs

    Glocks&Ducs

    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Did you even read the rest of the responses? And what the heck does to light of a crimp have to do with anything? I hardly ever see anyone crimping their 223 reloads. Even if they know they are going to be shooting them in ARs.

    And how does too light of a load explain his factory ammo malfunctions also? In addition to reading the rest of the responses, did you even read the original post?
     
  9. dudel

    dudel

    Messages:
    12,690
    Likes Received:
    14,227
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Did YOU read it? The factory round DID pick the round from the mag, it failed to eject. The reload did not cycle the bolt far enough to pick the round from the mag. Two different failures with two different reasons.

    "Fired 20 of my reloads. 1st round in the magazine would fire then eject, but the bolt failed to pick up my next round out of the mag. Pulled the handle back, and the next round chambers, fires, ejects, but again the bolt fails to pick up the next round, even though the bolt slides into battery.
    I had some factory ammo on hand, fired it. The bolt picked it up, chambered it, fired it, but the fired case then hung up in the ejection port."

    Crimp has to do with the pressure generated. Gas operated guns need pressure. Why do you suppose Hornady puts a channelure on their 55gr FMJ BT? Is for the crimp. And yes, I do put a firm crimp on .223 rounds, maybe that's why they work. Take a look at a factory .223 round. It's crimped. Check a military round - it's crimped.

    You don't want to crimp; I could care less. OP has a problem with not enough pressure. Charge and crimp are two things that affect pressure.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2010
  10. norton

    norton

    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    5,174
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Location:
    "Shot in the back, was they?".
    Easy fellas, lots not turn this into a p***ing match. I appreciate all of your input.

    Listening to your responses, then looking around for information, I am wondering if my lube of the bolt is adequate. This rifle is not new, but I don't shoot it that often. I do clean it after each range session, taking the bolt apart and trying to be thorough. I am now wondering however if my bolt lube is adequate. I am going to try some CLP, Mobil 1 or even some light grease bearing lube. We will see what happens.
     
  11. JMiller

    JMiller

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Location:
    Heriman,Ut
    I load the same projective with 25.5 grains of H335 I do however use the LFC die with a firm crimp. My finished rounds are 2.220 OAL and I use the same primers. I have had no problems with mine functioning in my gun or any of my friends AR's.
     
  12. Lothar

    Lothar Noob

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    New Castle, CO
    um... i've never crimped my .223 for my AR. It cycles just fine..

    i think glocks&ducks had it when he said your light loads could have junked up your gas tube, but then again a factory load should have blown that out.

    Clean your gas tube BCG and make sure your load is within spec and try again.
     
  13. dudel

    dudel

    Messages:
    12,690
    Likes Received:
    14,227
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Not a bad idea. AR like to run wet.
     
  14. sdelam

    sdelam

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    I dont suppose it is a 20" barrel? I have seen 20" bushy's have problems with light loads, even factory. 16" guns tend to be more forgiving.

    I would try cleaning the chamber good, if its dirty it might be dragging a little.

    Went the bolt down, never hurts.

    Stiffen your loads a little more.

    Is the factory ammo you were having troubles with the same that you used before?
     
  15. I Missed

    I Missed

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Wow, that time of the month?
     
  16. I Missed

    I Missed

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007


    This...
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  17. Max1775

    Max1775 Marine Infidel

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Helotes, Texas
    Try a good cleaning. Make sure the gas tube is clear. Gas tube issues cause tons of malfunctions in AR's. Lubricate the bolt assembly with a light oil like CLP (Still Marine issue when I was in, and worked great). Your AR will not like bearing grease. If the above does not work then I would look at ammo issues. Sounds like a gas tube issue to me though.
     
  18. Glock2008

    Glock2008 Gun User

    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Up north
    I'd work the load up a bit more. Your under the starting load of 25.5 for that combination, I run 26.5 at 2.23" and my gun cycles every time (and I almost never crimp). Maxinum load for that combination is 27.5.
     
  19. MadeInAmerica

    MadeInAmerica

    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Does not sound like a magazine or ammo problem. I would try another brand of factory .223 to make sure. I would also clean and oil the chamber, bolt and bolt carrier. spray some gun cleaner (carb cleaner ) down the gas tube. Check (tighten) screws on gas key. Take AR to range and test it.
    I'm thinking gas leak.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  20. 9mmtupperware

    9mmtupperware

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Location:
    Southwest Louisiana
    This may be out of left field but I have a bushmaster and I was at the range experiencing some of the same symptoms and it turned out that when my magazine was fully loaded the rounds were so tight that the gun could not strip them off. I took a few rounds out and it worked fine. It may have been a magazine problem Ive got about twenty or more of them and the one I was using may have had a problem. Just for shxts and giggles see if you can strip them out easily by hand.