close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

20-30 min/day: walking or lifting?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning' started by Cooper, Feb 15, 2007.

1. Cooper

Cooper

Since 11 Jan 07, I have walked every single day for at least 20 minutes. This is my absolute minimum: most days I ran, lifted, or both. But, if nothing else, I always walked.

My main goal is weight loss: I have lost 80+ lbs, and I'd like to lose another 20 or so. I also want good muscle definition.

I'm at a particularly busy time in my life, and I am re-evaluating my walking. Most days, the bare minimum of exercise (20-30 min) is all I have time for. Would I be better served by spending that time lifting?

2. DBradD

DBradD

You should be giving advice, not asking for it! I'll take a shot at your question even though I'm a total amateur.

My guess is that you'd be better off switching to some kind of resistance training, whether it be calisthenics, weight lifting, or whatever. You've bound to have lost some muscle along your trek so far. This might've slowed your metabolism. I'm guessing that you could probably see better continued results by trying to add some muscle back.

I think you might do better with bodyweight only calisthenics considering your time constraints. It eats most of your daily time allowance just driving to a gym. Then again, for all I know, you might have a home gym.

Part of the answer depends on just what you want to do. Do you simply want to do one or the other?

3. McGAP

McGAP

I am bound by the same time restraints, so I do weights (intensely) one day, and hit the treadmill the other. I lost 65 pounds three years ago and have kept it off doing so. Good work by the way!!!

4. ateamer

ateamer NRA4EVR