close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

13lb recoil spring + limp wristing = NO JAMS

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Jerry X, Jan 25, 2010.

1. Jerry X

Jerry X

I have over 1000 rounds on my G17 without any issues. The other day my wife was having problems shooting my G17 (1st time shooter). It would jam on her every 2-3 shot. I figure she was limp wristing. I cure this by adding a 13lb recoil spring. The next day she shoot over 200 rounds without any issues. :rock:

2. mboylan

mboylan

Hope you dropped your striker spring about 2 lbs too. Your kinda pushin it at 13 lbs if you didn't. 15 lbs is all good with a stock striker.

3. jhayesvw

jhayesvw

please explain.
    lots of people put the 13lb recoil spring in that shoot competition and light loads.
    im new to modifying handguns so i would like to hear more about this.

4. Jerry X

Jerry X

My mods:

13lb recoil spring w/ stainless steel guide rod
    2 lb striker spring
    3.5 lb connector
    Titanium safety plunger w/ custom spring

5. Jerry X

Jerry X

13lb recoil spring works perfect for me. Others my vary. From my research the lighter the recoil spring the less recoil and muzzle flop. It also helps out in limp wristing.

6. mboylan

mboylan

Not trying to be a tool. Just sayin. Would hate for somebody to read this and just stick in a 12 or 13 lb recoil spring without any other mods. Out of battery detonations suck.

7. tango44

tango44

Can someone explains this to me in details please.
    Thank you.

8. NateHodge

NateHodge Here too much

Those people shooting competition and shooting light loads are more than likely shooting rounds with a soft primer. And even if they aren't, a FTF only costs the time. It's not life or death.