close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Xp

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by rimfire22, Dec 26, 2004.


  1. rimfire22

    rimfire22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    83
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    My father in law has an old machine I think it is a 400. Can it run XP. He does not do alot with it except browse and e-mail. I just feel xp would be earier for him to use.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have XP on my old HP and it has made it MUCH better. It is a P3 500mhz with 384 mb of RAM.
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Better have at least 256MB of memory.
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    One piece of advice: DO A FULL INSTALL. You can buy the cheaper Upgrade CD, but remove the old partition first! It'll just ask to see the Win9x disk (to prove you've already been robbed by the M$ licensing fees) before it'll let you install XP.

    Back up all of the vital data and then reformat the drive as an NTFS volume before installing XP.

    Upgrading XP on a FAT32 filesystem can cause no end of ridiculous problems. Avoid it at all costs.
     
  5. erikd65

    erikd65
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    75
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional
    • PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

    • 128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

    • 1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*

    • Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor

    • CD-ROM or DVD drive

    • Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/evaluation/sysreqs.mspx

    E
     
  6. SamBuca

    SamBuca
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    317
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    My former desktop is a p3/550 with 384 ram and 36 gig scsi drive. It isn't exactly the fastest machine out there, but it ran XP.
     
  7. rimfire22

    rimfire22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    83
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    Thanks for the info
     
  8. jack19512

    jack19512
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    716
    0
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    I have a Gateway 450 with 128MB of ram and I run XP Pro, runs great.
     
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    You can also just start the XP CD while the old OS is running; there is an app on it that checks the PC's readiness for an XP install.
     
  10. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I have XP running on an AMD K6-II 450 with just over 300 MB of RAM. Haven't have a hitch...except the normal AMD/ Windoze glitches. Actually, XP was a vast improvement over Win98