close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Xp

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by rimfire22, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. rimfire22

    rimfire22

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    My father in law has an old machine I think it is a 400. Can it run XP. He does not do alot with it except browse and e-mail. I just feel xp would be earier for him to use.
     
  2. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have XP on my old HP and it has made it MUCH better. It is a P3 500mhz with 384 mb of RAM.
     

  3. NetNinja

    NetNinja Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Better have at least 256MB of memory.
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    One piece of advice: DO A FULL INSTALL. You can buy the cheaper Upgrade CD, but remove the old partition first! It'll just ask to see the Win9x disk (to prove you've already been robbed by the M$ licensing fees) before it'll let you install XP.

    Back up all of the vital data and then reformat the drive as an NTFS volume before installing XP.

    Upgrading XP on a FAT32 filesystem can cause no end of ridiculous problems. Avoid it at all costs.
     
  5. erikd65

    erikd65

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional
    • PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

    • 128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

    • 1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*

    • Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor

    • CD-ROM or DVD drive

    • Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/evaluation/sysreqs.mspx

    E
     
  6. SamBuca

    SamBuca

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    My former desktop is a p3/550 with 384 ram and 36 gig scsi drive. It isn't exactly the fastest machine out there, but it ran XP.
     
  7. rimfire22

    rimfire22

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    Thanks for the info
     
  8. jack19512

    jack19512

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hazard Ky
    I have a Gateway 450 with 128MB of ram and I run XP Pro, runs great.
     
  9. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    You can also just start the XP CD while the old OS is running; there is an app on it that checks the PC's readiness for an XP install.
     
  10. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    I have XP running on an AMD K6-II 450 with just over 300 MB of RAM. Haven't have a hitch...except the normal AMD/ Windoze glitches. Actually, XP was a vast improvement over Win98