close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wireless printing help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by .264 magnum, Nov 10, 2010.


  1. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    12,413
    160
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    I have an HP 6500 at home for printing duties. The wireless feature craps out all the time. Like when my daughter connected via USB yesterday - now the wireless needs to be "reset" by partially re-installing the software on my main laptop. The house contains 5 laptops and one Mac.

    I'm more than willing to go buy something better.

    What are your thoughts?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,540
    787
    Location:
    Indiana
    If you're happy with the printer, it's USB, AND you have a free spot on your router..

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=206&name=Print-Servers&

    However, looking at the specs for your printer, it shows it has an ethernet port, which means you should be able to plug it directly into the router... That *should* allow any PC/Laptop on the network, to print to it.

    If it doesn't, one of those in the Link should handle your problem.
     

  3. .264 magnum

    .264 magnum
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    12,413
    160
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Working on this now. Thank you!
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,540
    787
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4 IndyGunFreak, Nov 11, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  5. Linux3

    Linux3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    1,399
    0
    How did we survive before printers had ethernet ports?

    When I think of all the hours I spent getting print servers / system print buffers to work.
     
  6. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    If i is setup as wireless plugging it in USB will screw it up every time, you either have it configured for network access or USB, not both.
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,540
    787
    Location:
    Indiana
    That's actually a good point, if it's USB connected to the desktop, that would possibly explain the problem.

    Still think the easiest way is to hook it up to the router... Should be fairly easy I would imagine.

    IGF
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Wireless Printing Tech Talk Dec 21, 2008
Wireless help Tech Talk Mar 2, 2008
Wireless Printing? Tech Talk Feb 10, 2007
Wireless help Tech Talk Feb 2, 2006
Wireless Help Tech Talk Mar 2, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus