close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Wingmaster Forend Tube

Discussion in 'Tactical Shotguns' started by unit 900, Nov 5, 2013.

1. unit 900

unit 900

Sep 3, 2000
    Baltimore, Md
    I have an early 1960's Pennsylvania State Police 870 Wingmaster. I ordered a Hogue overmolded stock and forend to lessen the LOP. The original wood forend seems permanently welded to the tube/action bar assembly. The lock nut came off with the correct tool, but I cannot get the tube out of the forend. Tapping, heat and twisting offer no help. Is there any way to get it off without ruining the wood forend, which I would like to keep? I expect decades of trunk storage warped/shrunk the wood so as to make it seem a permanent package. I don't want to fork out another $50 for an additional tube assembly. Thanks for any help.

2. Tuned in as I have a 69' Wingmaster and I ordered Magpul furniture to replace the wood. Hopefully you can get it off without damaging the wood forend.

3. unit 900

unit 900

Sep 3, 2000
    Baltimore, Md
    The tube is mighty thin and I'm afraid that hammering on the threaded end will bend the tube or trash the threads. Hopefully someone here will have a trick or tip that will work.

4. aippi

aippi

Jun 12, 2009
    The forend is split down the middle and you have to spread that split. Once you do that it will lossen up enough to pull the forend tube assembly off. If you want it to be very easy simply spray some oil into the split and let it seep between the wood and the forend tube assembly, then spread the forend and pull the forend tube assembly out as you are spreading it.

Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  5. unit 900

unit 900

Sep 3, 2000
    Baltimore, Md
    Aippi; I tried the lube route with no luck. A liberal application made no difference. I haven't tried putting it in the freezer, I will do that next.

6. aippi

aippi

Jun 12, 2009