close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Winchester Primers Bad batch or..

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by EL_NinO619, Nov 6, 2012.


  1. EL_NinO619

    EL_NinO619
    Expand Collapse
    EX-Swage Monkey

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    1,615
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I have 2,000 LP Winchester primers that basically will not feed. It seems the anvil is about 20 thou over the cup, which is causing it to jam up. I have had some problems before but never this bad. Is it this batch or just QC on the down slop? And should I contact them, 2,000 is not a ton, but only being able to load them on a SS when they are for pistol is pretty much not going to happen. I was thinking of just setting them aside for a shortage etc. :dunno:
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Kwesi

    Kwesi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    1,433
    4
    Location:
    TX
    I would contact them. I just finished loading 2,000 9mm with Win SPP with no issues. IIRC I purchased these a year ago. Just recently picked up a brick of both SPP & LPP's. When were these purchased? While others have posted about Win primer issues I have personally never had an issue with them.
     

  3. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    I am having a similar problem with Tula .223 primers on my 650. The anvil isn't necessarily inside the cup and the assembly is taller than the primer disk on the press. The primer drags and makes a mess of things.

    I have a little under 5000 left to use and I won't be buying them again.

    Richard
     
  4. Colorado4Wheel

    Colorado4Wheel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    14,902
    153
    Location:
    CO

    Add a couple turns to the nut that holds the primer return rod. :wavey:
     
  5. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    I think this went right over my head!

    I believe the problem on my 650 is that the Tula primer is thicker than the Rotary Primer Disc and it won't allow the disk to rotate. Or, if the disc does rotate, it drags.

    Richard
     
  6. Colorado4Wheel

    Colorado4Wheel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    14,902
    153
    Location:
    CO
    If the ram isn't fully up (solidly in the at rest position and not sagging down), the primers will drag. Add some tension to the blue nut on the powder dispenser return rod and see if that helps.
     
  7. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    Ah ha! (.. light clicks on ..)

    I'll look into that. Thanks!

    Richard
     
  8. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,495
    834
    Location:
    so.cal.
    It may just be your finicky LNL. I have no issues w/ older WW primers, SP or LP, in my 550 or 650. If you want to swap. let me know, I have some CCI around.
    BTW, when Are you & Chris going to come up & play some IDPA???
     
    #8 fredj338, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012