close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

win98 help please

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Another Miller, Apr 23, 2007.


  1. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Am running windows 98 and nortons. Nortons doesnt support 98 any longer and guess what, I got a hacker and keylogger annoyance now and have no idea how to get rid of it,my registry keeps changing by itself.My computer is similar to watching a slide show, its unbelievably slow.

    I tried the suggestions in the stickie but the earliest version they support is windows 2000.I called nortons and they told me to by a new system.


    Im basically computer illiterate so any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Brass Nazi

    Brass Nazi
    Expand Collapse
    NO BRASS FOR U!

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    1,956
    0
    :rofl:




    Sorry, I had to laugh.


    I would save my data and re-install the OS but hopefully someone else could offer some better advice.
     

  3. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    The kicker is my norton subscription runs out tomorrow.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Don't worry about the Norton.The other programs are much better and make for dome flaws in Windows 98.And they are free.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  6. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  8. Blitzer

    Blitzer
    Expand Collapse
    Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    12,111
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    This is the one time I will agree free works better. All the major players have abandoned the Win98 crowd! It looks like I will have to go that route to protect one of my old machines I use for a backup email reader.

    :sad:

    Thanks to everyone for teaching this old dog new tricks!

    :thumbsup: :supergrin: ;)
     
  9. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Got good news and bad news..Everything installed but

    First, uninstalled nortons then..
    the one with squared program in its title,it kept causing my system to lock up and restart so I uninstalled it.It wasnt configurig to the 640x 480 settings i use so I first couldnt do a scan because the screen was too big then restarted and ran it again,I couldnt access a config setting for that part program(the .exe) to see why it was bigger an locked it all up.my computer said it performed an illegal error and shut down by itself.


    The others are working great,cleaned over 400mb of useless crap off the system( it only has 5gb total in its hd memory).Ran the avg and found no infection.It also cleaned up my start menu,rather than 15 things starting up ,now theres only 3 and it starts faster.Maybe it got the virus/hacker, I dunno.

    thanks again:badpc: :banana:
     
  10. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Okay if A2 Squared won't work get Adaware

    This versuion

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_ad-aware/?2466

    Adaware is safest for Windows 98.

    A very effective one that should work is Spybot in addition to Adaware.It does get one false positive in Windows 98.You can use the default settings.If you have a problem after scanning then restart the PC but Spybot should be updated and run at least once in Windows 98 for the things Adaware misses.The false positive that causes problems is called "Windows Active Desktop" Uncheck this one in the list after acanning and you shouldn't have a problem.

    http://www.filehippo.com/download_spybot_search_destroy/
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    When ruunning Ccleanwer run the Cleaner and "Issues" this cleans the registry.
     
  12. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Now I know why they pay people SO much to work on computers.Thanks again,ad aware works great.

    ad aware not running well,uninstalled it, tried spybot, it found the keylogger(s) and 48 other goodies but message said I cant fix until i register with a paid subscription.uninstalled both adaware and spybot.

    spy doctor a good one?


    Thanks, sorry to be such a pain.
     
  13. stratocastor80

    stratocastor80
    Expand Collapse
    NM FTW

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    20
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Have someone teach you how to rebuild win98.. its faster in the end.
     
  14. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    update; the adaware download has to be done through the site, there's only 1 that has fixed the 5% problem with updating it.Mine quit after startig so I referenced it at the site and reinstalled the same .exe but direct,it worked and cleaned it up.For now its fine,slow but ok.


    My nephew is building me a new system from the ground up.This box o junk will work til then.The hacker and keylogger really made a mess,damaged alot.I wont ever install norton again, that turned out to be part of the problem.
     
  15. stratocastor80

    stratocastor80
    Expand Collapse
    NM FTW

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    20
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    See if he can make you a ghost disk, its really cool that if it ever really gets messed up, you can boot from this ghost disk, and you computer will be reset to just like it was when the image was made, preferably after a clean rebuild. Obviously you have to save docs/other stuff you don't want wiped out elsewhere, but really its quite neat.
     
  16. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,695
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Curiosity, what type of Internet connection do you use? If you use some sort of always on connection, do you have a hardware firewall/router, or did you foolishly think Norton/M$'s software firewall would protect you?

    If you don't have a hardware firewall/router, that would be an investment I'd make before getting a new PC.

    IGF
     
  17. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    nothing fancy for isp, just cheap dial up,All my calling features on my service are now disabled. yes, there will be a router before the line goes into the computer rather than a direct one.