close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Will my Toshiba laptob keep up with today's technology?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by thaddeus, Nov 21, 2005.


  1. thaddeus

    thaddeus
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    444
    0
    Location:
    Free and wonderful Arizona!
    I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro 405CS and I was wondering if it could work on the internet? It is a Pentium 90 and has Win95 and a modem card inserted in it for dial-up. I THINK its biggest weakness is that it only has four 4 megs of RAM. That has always been its weakness but I could buy some more if that is all it needs.

    I just need to do some basic internet surfing and word processing. Is there any hope to make this computer function on today's internet or is it a lost cause?

    thanks!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    Max out the RAM and it should work for that :)

    Are you planning on adding a wireless card? Don't know if Win95 will support that but I doubt it will....

    You plan on connecting via dialup? Or broadband?
     

  3. Delta

    Delta
    Expand Collapse
    ThExtremeMember

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    530
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    Increase your RAM to 128m and you should be OK. If your system will allow it? Check the SIM slots to see if you can.

    go check these guys

    www.tigerdirect.com
    They have some good deals on ram


    B
     
  4. thaddeus

    thaddeus
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    444
    0
    Location:
    Free and wonderful Arizona!
    Thanks for the tips. When I bought the thing laptop RAM was $100 a meg! ;P Yeah, $400 for a 4 meg card. Now it is affordable enough that maybe it is worth maxing out.

    I have a card in it for internet with a jack for the phone cord that retracts from the card, so I was just going to use that for dialup.

    I don't know how to tell how much RAM it can take but I will look at it and see. IIRC it has two RAM slots to take a max of two RAM upgrades if that means anything, but I have not looked at it in several years so my memory could be completely wrong.
     
  5. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    get rid of that boat anchor, it won't be worth it to upgrade it.
     
  6. Sm0key369

    Sm0key369
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    63
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  7. biblefreak

    biblefreak
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    179
    0
    Location:
    West Texas
    You can get a cheap laptop on ebay that will be a lot better than trying to deal with that thing. By now the battery is probably toast, and it would cost more than the laptop is worth IF you can find a battery!

    If you look on ebay, look for the power sellers that have the buyer protection and you should be ok. About 6 months ago I bought a P3 512MB Ram T-23 IBM with DVD player for $350 shipped. It has worked great.

    Good Luck.

    Justin
     
  8. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0