close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Why is my DSL moving at turtle speed?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Agent6-3/8, Oct 19, 2008.


  1. Agent6-3/8

    Agent6-3/8
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    7,543
    105
    Location:
    The ramparts of civilization
    My internet stopped working Friday. Yesterday, I spent over 2 hours on the phone with Verizon trying to get it working again. Finally got in working an it was fine last night. Today, I fire up the computer and the damned DSL is moving like its dial up.:upeyes:


    Any ideas from someone that knows more about computers than I do?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. g29andy

    g29andy
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    2,686
    43
    Did you recently add a phone or fax machine, without using a DSL filter? Or a home security system?
     

  3. Agent6-3/8

    Agent6-3/8
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    7,543
    105
    Location:
    The ramparts of civilization

    Nope, nothing has changed.

    Its got me beat...:dunno:
     
  4. betyourlife

    betyourlife
    Expand Collapse
    on a GLOCK

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    5,590
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Are you using a wireless router in addition to the modem?
     
  5. Agent6-3/8

    Agent6-3/8
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    7,543
    105
    Location:
    The ramparts of civilization
    Hmmm....


    I'm not even going to try and explain, but lets just say I ok...at least for now... :headscratch:


    Thanks guys! :wavey:
     
  6. MallNinja4Hire

    MallNinja4Hire
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    583
    0
    Location:
    Montgomery,AL
    Do you have an alarm system installed in your home?

    Some systems that send opening & closing reports which I doubt your residential system has unless you requested it specifically can cause havoc on DSL lines I had countless service calls from DSL subscribers when I was installing alarm systems
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,693
    981
    Location:
    Indiana
    This caused havoc on my sisters DSL also...

    Oh well, he says its working now, I'm guessing he's now realizing the server on the animal porn site was just running slow.. :)

    Hope it keeps workin for you Agent.

    IGF
     
  8. MallNinja4Hire

    MallNinja4Hire
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    583
    0
    Location:
    Montgomery,AL
    :rofl:

    [​IMG]
     
  9. g29andy

    g29andy
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    2,686
    43
    That's why I brought it up. I had to order a filter for my alarm system. It had a different plug than the phone line DSL filters.