close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Why Am I Shooting High?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by avery53, May 17, 2013.

1. avery53

avery53
    Expand Collapse

I bought my Glock 19 a couple of months ago, it is my first Glock.
    I have always been a 1911 and a revolver shooter, but this thing is giving me fits as to why I shoot it so high. ( 4" at 10 yds ) :wow:
    A buddy who shoots Glocks at the police matches, took it with him to one of their shoots. Three different excellent shooters tried it out, all said it shot dead on for them.
    I don't have this problem with the 1911, so I must be doing something wrong.
    I am using the same sight picture, but apparently I'm doing something stupid.
    I'm not a newbie, been shooting handguns for 40+ years.
    This thing has me stumped.
    Any ideas?

Thanks avery

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Fire_Medic

Fire_Medic
    Expand Collapse
    Polymer Butcher
    CLM

The hump on the backstrap is making the gun point high for you, you're use to the thinner and flatter 1911 gun.

This is normal for a lot of folks new to Glocks, more so those that come from 1911's and are shooting one of the compact models.

If you take the gun (empty) in your hands and press out (like to point shoot) with your eyes closed, when you open your eyes the front sight will be high. It's a training issue but you can/will get passed it. Or buy one of the bigger frame models G17/etc and the issue might resolve as well. The hump on the bigger guns does not sit on the same place in your hand.

The other gentlemen had no issues because they're use to the Glock platform as you stated.

:wavey:

#2 Fire_Medic, May 17, 2013
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
  3. avery53

avery53
    Expand Collapse

I'm sitting here right now with gun in hand, you are correct about how it points. I'll keep working on it, hopefully I can get over the "hump". :supergrin:

Thanks for the quick reply
    avery