close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

what kind of RAM do I have?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by WRMorrison, May 27, 2007.


  1. WRMorrison

    WRMorrison
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    13
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    I'm trying to upgrade to more RAM, but I'm unsure what I have. The label on the 512MB stick that's in it says:

    512 MB PC2-5300
    283#457126*04187

    I'd like to upgrade to (2) 1GB sticks, but couldn't find anything similar online.

    Thanks in advance,
    -WRM
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. WRMorrison

    WRMorrison
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    13
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    OK, maybe I asked too early, I found some...I think.

    I found DDR2 memory that seems to be what I need, but I've noticed that it either states PC5300 or PC2-5300 (or 8500, 6400, 4200, etc.).

    Does it make a difference?

    -WRM
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    PC2-5300 is the same as DDR2-667Mhz RAM. Is it for a laptop and or a Mac? There may be some differences. What make and model PC?
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    PC2-4200 is slower than what you now have. You could go to a larger number than 5300(faster RAM) but it may not run any faster than what is in your PC.
     
  5. WRMorrison

    WRMorrison
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    13
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    Thanks for the reply. This is for a desktop PC that I had a "friend-of-a-friend" build for me (to solely run solidworks and operate my CNC mini-mill).

    Since the price is somewhat reasonable, I might go for 2x2GB.

    -WRM
     
  6. Tom34

    Tom34
    Expand Collapse
    Obama Must Go!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    126
    0
    Location:
    S.F. Bay Area
    If you go to the Crucial web site. Just down from the top is a tool that will "read" the memory on your system and make upgrade suggestions.