close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What kind of mem do I need? PC133

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by G21, Nov 12, 2004.


  1. G21

    G21
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    77
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Hope someone can help me. A few years ago I bought a "no-name" computer from a local builder. I want to add some memory to it, but after looking, I don't know if I need high-density or low density memory.

    It has a 1.1Ghz AMD Duron processor,and currently has only 128Mb of memory. There is a sticker on the memory itself that says only "PC133128MB".

    I found out it is a VIA motherboard, but I don't know model number right now. I can post it later after I get home.

    TIA,
    Dale
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. klmmicro

    klmmicro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    991
    0
    Location:
    South End of the Left Coast
    Yes, PC133 is the type of memory you have now so you will need to buy the same to augment what you have.
     

  3. G21

    G21
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    77
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Thanks, but now I need to know if I have high or low density memory.

    I was searching pricewatch.com and high density is cheaper than low density. Why, I don't know. But the low density is supposed to be compatible with 99% of motherboards.
     
  4. klmmicro

    klmmicro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    991
    0
    Location:
    South End of the Left Coast
    I have never run into anything other than the plain old PC133 stuff. I would stick with the low density stuff as it is almost a sure thing to work.

    The bus speed is goign to be the same regardless of density.
     
  5. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    2,696
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    PC133 SDRAM
     
  6. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
  7. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    If you use something like PNY's PC133, it is high-density and doesn't work on the majority of Intel chipsetted MOBOs I have worked with. SiS or VIA may be different, but my old Athlon setup, with a Chaintec VIA mobo, wouldn't use it either.

    The PC100 works just fine in most boards, and you only incur a 3% or so slowdown according to AIDA32's R/W benches.

    I have no idea why this memory costs more and doesn't work as well...I guess that's their idea of progress.

    BTW, the high-density appelation refers to the fact that the modules use smaller RAM chips, and so only occupy one side of the stick. For some reason this messes with a lot of older machines.
     
  8. paulgla

    paulgla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    5
    0
    Location:
    MASS
    You need to look at the motherboard and get the make and model. you need to see how much memory the board can handle before you start installing memory.