close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What I learned about setting up Vista (Home Basic SP1)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Old School, Jul 21, 2008.


  1. Old School

    Old School
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    673
    2
    Location:
    Wilmington NC USA
    For a variety of reasons I don't wish to get into, I purchased a Dell laptop with Vista Home Basic. It was through SP 1 so I thought most of the bugs were resolved. Here's what I learned - sharing for fellow GTers and anyone else who goes down that path.

    The biggest adjustment with Vista is setup patience. What we previously learned about internet speed and RAM don't matter. Seriously. Obscene T1, true gigabit performance with 1 TB RAM don't mean jack. It's just going to take time. Don't fight it. If you do anything else before these steps, you will have to restore to your original settings and start over. You can't shortcut the process. If you've done otherwise and had better luck - you're lucky. This is for those who don't want to invite Vista headaches.

    Day 1: Turn on your new machine with it wired to the net. That means no wireless during setup. Stay away from anything but the most basic router settings. If you're doing static IPs, etc, I suggest plugging directly into your modem. Answer their questions to set up a password, etc and before you do ANYTHING, let it connect to the Windows Update site. This will take about 1.5 hour. Let the updates install, another 45 minutes. Let the security updates happen and complete scan happen. Go ahead and dedicate an 8 hour day for this setup. Let it cycle through the scheduled auto update process (at 2AM or whenever) before you do anything else.

    Day 2 It's safe to open MS Word, etc and 'register' the software. Again, this communicates with MS, so it could take a while. Don't do anything else, letting the scheduled MS update happen again.

    Day 3 is when Vista feels that you have correctly prioritized MS software and you are allowed to do everything else. Connecting to wireless, printers, uninstalling unwanted s/w, installing 3 party browsers, firewalls, virus, malware, etc.

    I'm through day 7 and things seem to be going well. I wouldn't say that the software has bugs in the traditional sense, but it's far from a clean process. Best to wait as long as you can before moving to Vista.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Steve in PA

    Steve in PA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2000
    2,312
    27
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Sorry, I've been running Vista on my HP laptop for almost two years and I never had any of those issues when I fired mine up. Mine was running from our wireless router from the minute I turned it on. Okay, took a few minutes to configure everything.
     

  3. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    If it came with Vista installed what did you have to setup? All you should have had to do was decrapify and customize the OS.

    What are you talking about???

    You should never allow any version of Windows to automatically download any updates, history shows that doing so has created more problems then it solves. Also it is always faster to download the full service pack and install it from your computer then it is to connect to an update site and do it on line.


    Why register the software? What’s the point; you give them your personal info and receive spam and junk mail in return.

    Day 3??? By this point I’m at a loss … I have done clean installs of Vista in less then 4 hours … and this includes all of the latest updates. If the customer wants additional software or hardware (Printers, Scanners, Office etc …) because of reboots it can be a six hour job … my installations always include installing 3 party browsers, firewalls, virus software, etc …


    Again you bought a preloaded computer …
     
  4. RTmarc

    RTmarc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    69
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    I really couldn't have said anything different. The only thing I can figure is that he is on a dial-up connection.

    +1
     
  5. srg

    srg
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    36
    0
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I bought an HP desktop last March, has vista home premium edition.

    Ran perfect right out of the box, only had to "decrapify" (great term by the way) and choose what wallpaper I wanted etc.

    There was absolutely no big wait times in downloading updates, and that includes when I updated to sp1 when it became available.

    Either there is something wrong with your computer, right out of the box, or your internet connection has something wrong with it.

    srg
     
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Wish I could take credit for it but there actually is a program to do it for you ...

    http://www.pcdecrapifier.com/home
     
  7. RTmarc

    RTmarc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    69
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Don't forget about the ever-ellusive PEBKAC issues.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
What I have learned about meniscus surgery Cop Talk Apr 30, 2015
setting up security: Vista to Linksys WRTG Tech Talk Aug 18, 2010
Vista SP1 Tech Talk Feb 12, 2008
Vista Home Premium vs Vista Basic Tech Talk Jan 15, 2008
Setting up I-tunes? Tech Talk Apr 6, 2007