close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

What Chronometers Do You Use?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by BKG-22, Dec 13, 2011.


  1. BKG-22

    BKG-22
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 1999
    264
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Santa is looking for things I may want for Christmas and sure would be nice to have a chronometer.

    I am a computer nerd at heart so my thoughts are to have something USB based that I could use with a little netbook I take with me to the range. That way all my stats are already in the computer. It may also be cheaper since I already have the computer and all I need is the data acquisition components and software.

    I found this:
    https://www.competitionelectronics....ypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=21&category_id=7

    What else can you folks suggest?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Three-Five-Seven

    Three-Five-Seven
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Mombo
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 1999
    2,726
    34
    Location:
    Great Southwest
    If you mean chronograph, I use a Chrony and have less trouble with it at the range than other guys using more expensive equipment.

    If you mean Chronometer, I suppose Breitling is the one to get.
     
  3. PCJim

    PCJim
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    2,950
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Chrony Beta Master. A lot of people have stated in the MANY threads that have appeared on the subject that they cannot get consistent readouts with a Chrony unit. It has been hypothesized that it may be due to poor shot placement, ie shooters that are too worried they'll shoot the unit or simply poor shooters. Personally, I don't have a problem with obtaining readouts.

    What ever unit you decide upon, get one with a remote display.
     
  4. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,492
    832
    Location:
    so.cal.
    Well, I have tested the ChronyBM, yes it works, sort of. It would not be my first chice for a serious working chronograph. I also never like the idea of shooting @ the guts of my system , so the CompE would not get my vote either. The CED is IMO, the best bang for your buck in a chronograph, unless you want to pop for an Oehler. The screens are good, the system is easy to use & repeatable. For shooting groups & collecting data, it would be my choice if I didn't have an Oehler.:supergrin:
     
  5. Hoser

    Hoser
    Expand Collapse
    Ninja

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    2,340
    34
    CD with IR screens.
     
  6. unclebob

    unclebob
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2000
    7,301
    314
    Location:
    Mary Esther FL
    CED:thumbsup::thumbsup:
    Ran my CED and Oehler 3 screen at the same time. Same readings.
     
  7. rpgman

    rpgman
    Expand Collapse
    SCGLOCK

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    1,158
    0
    Location:
    Florence
    I'm liking that CED.
     
  8. Hogpauls

    Hogpauls
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    854
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    I purchased the F1 chrony and sent it in for the master upgrade (remote control and cord). I got it back and it wouldn't read any shots and the ones it did were way to low. I called Shooting Chrony up and they took care of the problem quite efficiently and I've had no problems since. IMO they have great customer service.
     
  9. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,492
    832
    Location:
    so.cal.
    My same exp running the Oehler, CED & ChronyBM back to back to back, in three diff orders. All read within 8fps of each other. The Chrony just misses more shots, a lot more shots.:upeyes:
    They need to, a lot of people shoot those things trying to get closer to the tiny little screens. The weak point of any chronograph is the screen quality.
     
    #10 fredj338, Dec 14, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2011
  10. F106 Fan

    F106 Fan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    8,033
    267
    I have a couple of very old Ohler's - bought them in the early '80s. With 10' screen spacing, they are a PITA to use.

    I now use the CED Mk II and I like it a lot. The USB connection to the PC is a very nice feature.

    Like others, I don't want to shoot at the electronics. Shot placement is very predictable when shooting a rifle off a benchrest. Maybe it's not so predictable shooting a handgun off-hand. I put a target behind the screens with an orange dot to aim at. I try very hard to hit the dot...

    What I need to do is create an application to handle the resulting data. I want some kind of log where I can attach load information, weapon used and whatever else I dream up. I'm surprised there isn't already a log app from CED. Just having the numbers without context is pretty useless.

    Richard
     
    #11 F106 Fan, Dec 14, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2011
  11. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker
    Expand Collapse
    Jacks #1 Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    6,143
    24
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
  12. Taterhead

    Taterhead
    Expand Collapse
    Counting Beans

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    3,582
    95
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
  13. fx77

    fx77
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    2,374
    206
    Oheler 35 P and do not look back
     
  14. Colorado4Wheel

    Colorado4Wheel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    14,899
    151
    Location:
    CO
    When the CED is that good what benefit does the Oheler give you.
     
  15. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,492
    832
    Location:
    so.cal.
    Nothing really. I have a PACT & an Oehler. The pact suffers from poor screens like the Chrony, at least my early Pact screens are crap. Oehler still makes the best screens bar none, but the CED units are very good & repeatable. For the money, I would be buying a CED if I did not own an Oehler.:wavey:
     
  16. WiskyT

    WiskyT
    Expand Collapse
    Malcontent

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    11,682
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I have no experience with other chronos. The Chrony brand works fine, and you won't shoot it, if you set it up with a target immediately behind it. Make an aiming point on the target and shoot a group at it. THEN place the chrony in position so that your group is in the middle of the screens.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #17 WiskyT, Dec 15, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  17. WiskyT

    WiskyT
    Expand Collapse
    Malcontent

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    11,682
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The small group is mine. I used a target that was already there with a million holes in it. I just picked a clean spot on it to work with. There are about 100 or so shots in that hole.