close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

web accelerator for dial up! Astounding speed increse!

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by R_Ladies_Man, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. R_Ladies_Man

    R_Ladies_Man Just Sad

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin Village
    I just switched ISPs and this new ISP has a program called web accelerator that compresses pictures and java and some other things. i can choose the settings of how much compression I want, it makes pictures look worse but if i want to see one i can choose to have it shown in all it's quality.

    I am very happy and excited about this. I can only get a 26.4 dialup connection so this is an awesome increase in speed! it is much faster then 2x my old speed
     
  2. R_Ladies_Man

    R_Ladies_Man Just Sad

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin Village
    OMG guys my interent is so fast this is like having broadband!



    I LOVE THIS! I used to click on pages like microsoft.com and leave the room and come back almost 30 or 45 seconds later and the page wasn't loaded. would not be fully loaded for about a minute. now it is only a matter of seconds!
     

  3. Bullwinkle J Moose

    Bullwinkle J Moose Quick! Duck!

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    SC
    Haven't noticed the degraded picture quality yet, eh?
     
  4. podwich

    podwich

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Messages:
    4,544
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    MI
    That's cool. Although I do like my 3 Mbps download speed. :)
     
  5. Norman

    Norman Non nobis CLM

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,938
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're still on dial-up??

    ;P


    Can you still access BBS's with that thing?? Or 1989?
     
  6. Willard

    Willard Who, me?

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2000
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yeah, that sounds like what I use at home, with Bellsouth.net. It works really well.

    BTW, affordable highspeed internet isn't available everywhere yet. Some folks still have to deal with dial-up.
     
  7. Cali-Glock

    Cali-Glock Mountain Man

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    5,862
    Likes Received:
    534
    Location:
    California Sierra Mnts
    Even unafordable highspeed internet is not available everywhere. The only option I might have is satelite, and from what I have read it is pretty flaky and thus in my eyes is not worth the investment. ($600-1000 up front and $80 a month) I am not sure it will work where my home is located anyway. We are lucky to get 14.4 dial up! ;P It sucks big time.
     
  8. BillyBoy

    BillyBoy The Enabler

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona Bay
    You can get internet through DirecTV. Usually its free equipment, or like 50 bucks. I don't know where you're getting 600 bucks from.
     
  9. Ian_Cognito

    Ian_Cognito Old timer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2001
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North of Louisville
    Last time I checked, DirecWay satellite was like $500 upfront (or spread out over a year) and $60 per month. If it's free, or low-cost equipment now, SIGN ME UP!
    I am also stuck with dialup @ about 24k.
     
  10. Glocker74

    Glocker74

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I had dial up for a year, and consistently ran at 50-52 megs. $23 bucks a month, MSN.

    I switched to Charter broad band, 3 meg, supposedly. But I have to pay $43 a month for the privelege. I have heard someone else here pays only $30 for the same service.

    I wish it were cheaper...:)
     
  11. Jlarue

    Jlarue GOOO SOONERS!!!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Napa, CA
    I myself could not live without my DSL after so long with it dial up just killd me. I can however understand the problem when dial up is all you have then you make the best with thay. I am Just spoiled with my 6Mbs DL and my 768K upload speed. There is of course the fact that it does cost quite a bit, but oh well it's worth it too mr.
     
  12. R_Ladies_Man

    R_Ladies_Man Just Sad

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin Village
    satilite has a very long ping time which makes it slow to sites you have not been to before. for you other guys on dialup though I say give this technology a try and you will not be disaponited.
     
  13. paynter2

    paynter2 It ain't over Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 1999
    Messages:
    6,199
    Likes Received:
    882
    Location:
    upper mid-west
    I was on dial-up until two days ago - no choice (besides satellite). I was running at 17.2KPS - lord it was slow...

    I'm over 10 miles from my phone company hub - but the guy said he installed a repeater every .8 mile and it works great!

    Get on your phone company to bring DSL to you. It doesnt' cost much more - at least in my case - $12/month (more than I was paying for phone and dial-up). Plus, my land line is not available for in/out calls.