close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

WE GOT WEED - Illinois

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by Sharky7, May 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sharky7

Sharky7 Boomshakalaka

2. plp

plp

Just out of curiosity, has anyone recently tested drivers under the influence for impairment?

As I recall, when the FDA tested marinol, they gave it the same restrictions associated with many over the counter medications.

On another subject, as LEO, how do you see this impacting your day to day job? Good, bad or indifferent?

3. Vigilant

Vigilant

People will drive impaired by just about any prescription drug. That argument is BS IMO.

I'm by no means a medical expert, and I personally despise it. But if MJ is the best means of providing relief to people with certain chronic medical ailments, and provided it is stringently regulated, I can't say that I would be totally opposed to the idea.

Charts! We need charts! :rofl:

4. scottydl

scottydl

I see some problems, or at least added work for LEO's...

- A lot of the public is dumb and many people won't follow the rules, thinking that because a law is passed that it's a free-for-all to smoke weed anywhere, anytime.

- There are doctors who will allow themselves to be bribed (whether by cash, additional insurance payments, increased patient base, etc.) to falsify or exaggerate records so they can prescribe to patients who wouldn't otherwise qualify. How will the law define an "established relationship" and how will that doc-writing-the-prescription end of things be enforced?

- The same potential for abuse exists with the dispensaries. How will they be chosen, regulated, and enforced?