close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Volume 308 loading

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Maine1, Nov 5, 2011.


  1. Maine1

    Maine1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    1,338
    14
    Location:
    Maine
    ..for say practice/training. Anyone do it?

    Do you use one headstamp exclusivley, if not do you worry about sizing diferent makes of brass the same?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. jmorris

    jmorris
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    1,549
    125
    For loading large volumes of 308 I do have brass that is mixed head stamp and they are all sized the same (to fit a 308 case gauge). You do have to trim and my loads I mix brass with are at the low end of mid range.

    [​IMG]
     

  3. freakshow10mm

    freakshow10mm
    Expand Collapse
    10mm Advocate

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    6,903
    8
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Same here. Size, trim, load. Mixed headstamp. Unless I'm competing for money, nothing gets sorted.
     
  4. Maine1

    Maine1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    1,338
    14
    Location:
    Maine
    Thats good to know. i do the same thing with midrange loads in handguns, but rifles are significantly greater pressure. Thanks guys!
     
  5. slims00ls1z28

    slims00ls1z28
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    235
    0
    Location:
    TN

    Likewise. Mixed nato 7.62 and commercial .308. If I want to load for accuracy (haven't yet but will shortly). I'll start using just the LC brass I have, otherwise it's all mixed.
     
  6. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,515
    841
    Location:
    so.cal.
    I use mixed brass for my M1, loaded on a 550B, a progressive is the only way to go for semiauto rifles.
     
  7. Maine1

    Maine1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    1,338
    14
    Location:
    Maine
    What about sizing? I hear alot about 'rolling the shoulder back'. I gauge every round i make, and after a standard full lenght resize, the brass gauges fine. Something crossed over from BR shooting, ot am i missing something?

    All the 308 i have loaded so far shoots fine, but i don't want to screw up viable brass.
     
  8. jmorris

    jmorris
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    1,549
    125
    That is all you need to do.