close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Using snap caps with a striker fired pistol

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by NewtoConsulting, Jan 17, 2013.

1. NewtoConsulting

NewtoConsulting
    Expand Collapse

Guys,

I'm new to Glock and striker fired pistols in general. On my 1911 or Beretta M9 I use my left thumb to cock the hammer when I'm dry firing using snap caps. I am able to reset the gun with minimal disruption to my grip and concentration. This obviously isn't going to work with a Glock. The first time the trigger didn't reset I cycled the slide. That cocked the striker and reset the trigger. The problem is that now my snap cap is on the floor! With a striker fired gun is there no way around this for practice? I guess I'll need to buy more snap caps and load all 13 into my G21 Gen4 magazine to practice. I just tried to dry fire, cycle the slide, catch the snap cap in mid air, lock the slide back, put the cap directly into the chamber and close the slide. It worked but wow that would really distract from paying attention to the trigger. What do you guys do load a mag and then reload when it's empty?

If it was easier to buy Glock magazines I would probably just buy one and designate it as my practice snap cap mag.

I wonder if I practice enough will I experience "SCTF" when the ejected dummy round is leaving the Glock.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. SARDG

SARDG
    Expand Collapse

Don't even suggest that or it will be all over the Internet... folks will be starting threads about it... they'll be sending their guns to Glock for a cure.

3. skyboss_4evr

skyboss_4evr
    Expand Collapse

You don't need to completely cycle the slide. Pull it just far enough to the rear to reset the trigger...maybe 1/4 inch or so.

This way your snap cap isn't ejected each time.

4. NewtoConsulting

NewtoConsulting
    Expand Collapse

Ok that works. I knew there had to be a better way!

5. aliasneo07

aliasneo07