close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Use an ATA HD on a SATA mobo

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by DeadMansLife, May 9, 2008.

  1. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Is it possible to boot from an ATA hdd when the original hdd was SATA?

    EDIT TO ADD

    Is there a way to dual boot with a SATA and ATA hdd when both have XP?
     
  2. Razrbk444

    Razrbk444 Sumthin' Witty Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    NE Arkansas
    As long as both drives have the drivers installed for that particular motherboard you should be fine. Set up boot priority in the bios for a default drive, or you may select drive at prompt.
     

  3. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Would like to select a drive at the prompt. Would the needed driver be for the mobo bios?
     
  4. Razrbk444

    Razrbk444 Sumthin' Witty Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    NE Arkansas
    In order for a drive to safely boot without errors, in needs the drivers for the m'boards chipset. You can't pull a drive from another machine (if that's what you are doing) and expect it boot unless it came from a machine with the same chipset. It's uaually best to format the drive you've taken from a different machine and install XP fresh. Xp will install a generic driver, but if you have the driver for the specific motherboard (disk, mfg. website, or Windows Update) install it immediately after installing XP.
     
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    26,453
    Likes Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Indiana
    Why are you trying to boot two different versions of XP? Are you just trying to get the data off the ATA drive, onto the SATA drive? If so, it might just be easier to get an external enclosure and put the ATA drive in it, get your data, then format it and use it for backup.

    IGF
     
  6. Blitzer

    Blitzer Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    12,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    The EIDE-ATA port will be secondary and the SATA primary by default. Why dual boot to the same OS?