close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

US Citizenship for CCW?

Discussion in 'Heart of Dixie Glockers' started by Munich_Germany, May 18, 2009.

1. Munich_Germany

Munich_Germany

Oct 9, 2008
    Alabama
    Do I have to be a US citizen to apply for a CCW permit in Alabama?
    I am a German Army Officer serving in Ft.Rucker, i live near Rucker but I do not have a US citizenship.

Last edited: May 18, 2009
  2. Fear Night

Fear Night NRA Life Member

Dec 18, 2005
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Yes, you have to be a legal US citizen. Here are the guidelines for my county:
    http://www.shelbyso.com/page.php?p=permits

3. hagar

hagar Millennium Member

Sep 7, 1999
    Columbia, SC
    Alabama might be different, but neither AZ or SC had any issues with issueing me a CCW before I had my citizenship. You do have to be in the US with either a green card or an immigrant visa, not a student visa or visitors visa.

Some states issue out of state CCW permits, and may also do so for an overseas gun carry permit.

4. Norman

Norman Non nobis CLM

Oct 29, 2004
    Permanent residents are okay in Florida. You have to be a legal Permanent Resident of the U.S., not just a visiting alien. Florida's permit is valid in Alabama (even if you have a non-resident FL permit).