close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Uploading pictures from a card Reader

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Midas, Dec 18, 2004.

  1. Midas

    Midas

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Maybe some has a cure to this issue.

    I have been uploading pi cutes from my card reader to my computer vis USP port.

    it has worked flawlessly for two years.

    Yesterday I went to do it and the window that usually pops up when I insert a card into the reader did not pop up. I think it is a "Windows" pop up utility or something. it would lead me thought the process of loading pictures into a specific location.

    any Ideas for why it is not working?

    I run XP

    Thanks,

    Jeff
     
  2. Don At PC

    Don At PC Senior Member Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1998
    Messages:
    5,227
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Have you tried clicking on "programs"---"My Computer" and see if your card reader is identified? If it is double click on it and see if it opens up.
     

  3. Midas

    Midas

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Don,My computer can see it and I can still upload. Not the way I use to thought when I got it set up.

    thanks,
    jeff
     
  4. Nicky D

    Nicky D CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Souderton, Pa.
    Have you installed any new programs that may have hijacked this feature. Also, did this occur after any upgrading XP to the new service pack. The same thing has happened to me but I associated it with new software. But I also am curious if it is a part of MS security features.
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Plug the reader into another set of USB ports and see if that helps at all.

    If not, then see if there is an IRQ conflict with the USB hub you are using for it, and make sure it isn't set to Conserve Power.
     
  6. Toyman

    Toyman

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,600
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    West Michigan
    Right Click on the Drive, Select Properties.

    In the Properties Dialog, Select the AutoPlay tab.

    In the AutoPlay tab, select "Prompt me each time to choose an action".