close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Upgrade RAM Dell 1501

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by bocephus549, Dec 9, 2008.


  1. bocephus549

    bocephus549
    Expand Collapse
    Bo Knows.......

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    6,290
    31
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I want to upgrade from 1 gig to 2 gigs. The laptop came from the factory with one gig. Does this mean I have 2 512 chips from the factory or just the one chip? I believe it has 2 ports.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. g29andy

    g29andy
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    2,686
    43
    If you go to Crucial's site, it can scan your laptop and tell you what configuration you have, also what replacement/upgrade module/s you need.
     

  3. Blitzer

    Blitzer
    Expand Collapse
    Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    12,111
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Ditto on Crucial! :)
     
  4. havensal

    havensal
    Expand Collapse
    Nozzle Jockey
    CLM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    2,939
    1
    Location:
    Western, NY
    More than likely 2x512. It is usually an adder for 1x1gb. I would recommend buying 2 gigs of faster ram as cheap as it is. Usually Dell sell the slow(cheap) stuff. :dunno:
     
  5. bocephus549

    bocephus549
    Expand Collapse
    Bo Knows.......

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    6,290
    31
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Thanks Guys, that site was great. So should I just buy the upgrade they suggest? 2 gigs for $31.98 seems almost too good to be true.
     
  6. genieinthelamp

    genieinthelamp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    60
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You may actually find it cheaper if you keep looking at other sites (now that you know specifically what you are looking for), but I have ordered from crucial before and been happy.

    Before tech upgrades, I check slickdeals.net, bensbargains.net, and ebay.
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    977
    Location:
    Indiana
    I agree... Crucial is generally solid RAM, and thats a good price, not sure how much lower you'll go than that.. You might get some generic brand a bit cheaper, but Crucial is generally high quality RAM, and at that price, I think that's who I'd go with.

    I've gotten RAM off of ebay before on several occasions, with good luck, and usually pretty cheap, because it was older RAM. Just something to think about.

    IGF