close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Updating bios failed, wont boot

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by -, Aug 7, 2005.


  1. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I was updating a few things on a PC i dont use much and i have damaged the bois or something.

    I was using winbios and it didnt look to be the correct MB and i thought i caneled the install. Upon rebooting i get no bois at all, its asking for a floppy. Safe mode doesnt work ant all, hitting del on the boot does nothing.

    I dont want to reload the system as i am rarely using that PC. It is a 2.4 Ghz P4 so its worth fixing.

    Any ideas?

    the error reads:

    Bios Rom checksum error
    detecting floppy drive A

    Andy

    LKG doenst work either, i never get to the option to select it.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Can you flash the bios with the correct one?
     

  3. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Maybe, never done it. Thats what got me into trouble to begin with:)

    I suppose i need to DL it and put it on a floppy because thats all that seems to work on it.

    its a crappy MB i am not sure its even supported, i will look.

    Andy
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    It may work.Doing it from a floppy is vest and seems the only way now.Certain motherboards won't take bios flash unless there is a bios present from the company that made the PC.Even some of those will take a flash from the original motherboard maker rather than the PC maker.If it's a standard make motherboard you might be able to get it working.
     
  5. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Booting with the bios flash program on a floppy does didnt work.

    It is asking for a system disk and then to press enter.

    I created a MS dos boot floppy let me see if this will do anything.

    Andy
     
  6. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Does the bios show up?Some of those bio flashes for floppies must be opened and run in Windows with a formatted floopy in the floppy drive.Sometimes you can't just copy the bios flash to the disk.
     
  7. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    No i dont get any bios at all.

    just this:

    Bios ROM checksum error

    Insert system disk and press enter



    Inserting a MS dos boot disk did nothing. What does it mean "system disk"?

    Andy
     
  8. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Do you get any boot screen?Some bios flashes are programs that you open and run on another pc and they write automatically to the floppy.This is more than just copying the file to the floppy but you do it on another PC.It only writes to the floppy.What make motherboard or PC is it?Did you find the bios flash program for that motherboard on the internet?
     
  9. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    No boot screen what so ever straight tothis:

    BIOS ROM checksum Error

    the it dects a floppy and asks:

    Insert system disk and press enter.



    Its an older ESC board which i found the bios for on the ECS web site.

    Andy
     
  10. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Is the bios suppose to be directly copied to floppy or is it a program to be run in Windows to make a floppy?
     
  11. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    There were two

    one was a windows based program and i think the other a dos based.

    I am checking right now.

    Andy
     
  12. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Warning!
    Updating your BIOS constitutes a risk! If flashing goes wrong, it may render your motherboard unbootable thus requiring you to send your motherboard or BIOS chip in for re-flashing (RMA).

    What's the webpage and which motherboard and bios is it?
     
  13. Expand Collapse
    Guest

  14. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Okay,your link didn't show up completely but it looks like one is an exe Windows program and the other is in a zip file and must be extracted.Neither one is designed to be copied directly to a floppy.
     
  15. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    that may be a problem then.

    I did read the cautions on the ECS web page and one stuck out:

    " Please do not update the BIOS if your system is running fine."

    Now they tell me :)

    Andy

    I extracted it and copied it to a floppy with no luck. I will one more thing.
     
  16. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    you should be able to run the exe Windows one and make a floppy or extract the zip file in Windows and make a floppy.You need to download to another PC then open it.It should give you directions to follow to make a floppy.
     
  17. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    The zip file ones normally aren't as easy as the exe programs.Download the exe program then open(double click) it.It should give you a DOS like window with directions to insert a formatted floppy and continue.
     
  18. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I tried that 3 times aready, it asks for a system disk, it doesnt care about the one i have in there.

    Andy
     
  19. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Okay I meant to do that on the good PC to make a floppy.You might try a Windows CD rescue if it will read the CD.
     
  20. Expand Collapse
    Guest

    it wont read a CD.

    I downloaded the bios programs from the web with my good PC, Extracted the Zip to a floppy and tried it in the problem PC.

    At this point i am baffled

    Andy

    one of those downloads is just a .BIN file.

    the other is a program.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
BIOS update Tech Talk May 2, 2010
windows wont boot when external hd is plugged in??? Tech Talk Mar 23, 2008
BIOS problem... Tech Talk Feb 18, 2008
PC i built 6 months ago wont boot...read for details Tech Talk Dec 16, 2005
Comp wont boot! Please Help!! Tech Talk Jan 7, 2005