Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

• Reason #1
  • Reason #2
  • Reason #3

Site Description

Updated 1-stop answers: Spyware, Secret Installs, Virus and related

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by SamBuca, Jan 9, 2005.

1. SamBuca

Aug 9, 2002
    Carlisle, PA

The previous 1-stop thread is so outdated that you can actually damage your system by using it...and a lot of the programs/advice given is no longer relevant.

I do this for a living...I sit in my 2 bedroom apartment and make websites, program, and spend the majority of my day fixing virused/cracked/spyware-ridden systems (call me for help in the central PA area ;)). This isn't my opinion or some nonsense I'm regurgitating from reading online....this is what actually works in the real world time and time again.

Please do not have to be a computer genius to fix and/or protect your system. These easy instructions will provide you with a few key programs to handle things---not 10 different programs that are confusing and use terminology you've never heard of.

Whether you're infected or not, it's a good idea to start at the beginning and work your way down. As we approach the bottom, things will get more complex and will change your may stop at the designated places if you're not comfortable with "going all the way."

Spyware and Adware are defined as "...products [that] perform many different functions, including the delivery of unrequested advertising (pop-up ads in particular), harvesting private information, re-routing page requests to illegally claim commercial site referral fees, and installing stealth phone dialers," and "...any software application in which advertisements are displayed while the program is running," respectively.

• Popup advertisements that appear when you're not browsing the web
    • Search bars that appear in Internet Explorer (IE)
    • The default page in IE changes without your knowledge