Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

  • Reason #1
  • Reason #2
  • Reason #3

Site Description

Unbelievably Bad Presale Support

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Eric, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. Eric

    Eric Big Giant Head Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Jan 1, 1970
    Hi folks. Has anyone here ever heard of a company called Xgforce, ? They make load balancing appliances, among other things. Well, I am in the market for an inexpensive load balancing appliance for Glock Talk and I found their site. Their LB100B is about $1,800 cheaper than the cheapest Coyote Point load balancer, but they have very little information on their site.

    There are no phone numbers posted for them, so I tried emailing them with a list of questions about their unit. I received an email back with answers to about half of my questions and the sentence of the longest answer was maybe five words long. I don't know if they could have addressed my email and given me less information. I wrote them again and re-asked several of the questions and asked for more info on a couple of others. They responded with another note that was maybe twelve words long, that was more or less aimed at my questions.

    So, I wrote again and asked if there was someone I could talk to by phone that could answer my questions. They sent me a couple of links to pages on their site containing info that was about a completely different product! I wrote back again and asked once again if I could talk to someone by phone. They just wrote back and told me that their engineers say that the unit would work for me, but that they had no intention of telling me how the unit was designed!!!!!

    I am dumbfounded by this company's lack of presales support. They simply will not talk to me or provide any comprehensive info about the product. This thing costs $1,589 and I can't get these guys to give me five minutes on the phone to tell me how it will implement in my network, how the gui works, how it provides failover, or how it provides session persistence. These are things I have to know to make a decision. I am at a loss.

    First of all, has anyone out there had any experience with or heard of this company? My sister says that Petsmart uses their SSL servers for their store transactions nation-wide, so they are not a complete unknown. <b>Has anyone ever dealt with them or maybe have a phone number for them?</b>

    In spite of their very poor customer service, I would really like to get more information on their unit. The Coyote Point unit is much, much more epxensive and having to pay the extra $1,800 or so is going to shoot a big hole in GT's equipment budget. On the other hand, I don't want to gamble $1,600 on a cheaper unit that may or may not fullfill my needs.

    If anyone out there has any information about this company's products, or a number I can use to talk to them directly, I would really appreciate it. Eric
  2. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Mar 28, 2001
    SW Oregon
    I think you answered your own question, O Fearless Leader...

    What sort of service-after-the-sale could you reasonably expect from these individuals?

    I mean, if they utter monosyllabalic grunts NOW, wait until you're just another disgruntled customer to be blown off!

    Then you'd need to pony up $3400 for a decent unit anyway, without this $1600 in the bank.

    Choose wisely, and good luck.

    Best regards,


  3. I whois'ed their domain and they are very secretive:

    c/o Network Solutions
    P.O. Box 447
    Herndon, VA. 20172-0447

    Domain Name: XGFORCE.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    c/o Network Solutions
    P.O. Box 447
    Herndon, VA 20172-0447

    Technical Contact:
    Network Solutions, LLC. (HOST-ORG)
    13200 Woodland Park Drive
    Herndon, VA 20171-3025
    1-888-642-9675 fax: 571-434-4620

    But their system is sitting on a California ISP:

    host has address


    OrgName: Covad Communications
    OrgID: CVAD
    Address: 2510 Zanker Rd.
    City: San Jose
    StateProv: CA
    PostalCode: 95131
    Country: US

    ReferralServer: rwhois://

    NetRange: -
    NetHandle: NET-68-164-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-68-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS3.COVAD.COM
    NameServer: NS4.COVAD.COM
    RegDate: 2002-11-12
    Updated: 2004-03-11

    AbuseHandle: CART-ARIN
    AbuseName: Covad abuse reporting team
    AbusePhone: +1-703-376-2830

    TechHandle: ZC178-ARIN
    TechName: Admin
    TechPhone: +1-888-801-6285

    OrgAbuseHandle: CART-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Covad abuse reporting team
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-703-376-2830

    OrgNOCHandle: CIN-ARIN
    OrgNOCPhone: +1-888-801-6285

    OrgTechHandle: ZC178-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Admin
    OrgTechPhone: +1-888-801-6285

    host is an alias for domain name pointer

    Domain Name: XWORKS.US
    Domain ID: D3259660-US
    Sponsoring Registrar: ABACUS AMERICA, INC. D/B/A NAMES4EVER.COM
    Domain Status: ok
    Registrant ID: KC4L9
    Registrant Name: John Key
    Registrant Organization:
    Registrant Address1: P. O. Box 274
    Registrant City: Alhambra
    Registrant State/Province: ca
    Registrant Postal Code: 91801
    Registrant Country: United States
    Registrant Country Code: US
    Registrant Phone Number: +1.9999999999
    Registrant Email:
    Registrant Application Purpose: P1
    Registrant Nexus Category: C11
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Mar 28, 2001
    SW Oregon

    What I said before goes double now.

    Something tells me that our Mr. Mz8fb8mg6bs has a less than sterling reputation.

    Just a hunch...

    Good luck, big guy!
  5. frefoo


    Apr 4, 2004
    Northen VA

    I have never used the product or have worked with the company.

    I have to agree with fastvfr if they are not helping you with a sale then what is the support going to be like?

    While I expect you want to do things cheaply (understandable) I would look elsewhere since pre-sale support is a problem.

  6. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Jan 9, 2002
    Outside the perimeter
    There's no such thing as pre-sales support, Eric, only "potential sales suppport". No support - no sale. fastvfr's right - post sales support will only be worse.
  7. Mathew

    Mathew New Title:

    May 20, 2004
    Northern VA

    Have you checked out BigIPs?

    I work in hosting and would be happy to help if you could give some specifics of what you are looking to do.

  8. alm350

    alm350 §T®ÈÈT¿ÐÈMOÑ

    fly by night company if i ever seen one lmao thanks for the heads up tho
  9. frefoo


    Apr 4, 2004
    Northen VA

    While I don’t entirely agree with the above comment I have to agree with the context. If company X is not banging your down to make a sale then look elsewhere.

  10. Liu, Mu Y
    435 N Alhambra Ave
    Monterey Park, CA 91755-1963
    (626) 927-9468
  11. Liu, Min H
    435 N Alhambra Ave
    Monterey Park, CA 91755-1963
    (626) 569-0599
  12. Eric

    Eric Big Giant Head Staff Member Admin Moderator

    Jan 1, 1970
    I am not sure what you searched for on their site to find that page, but I appreciate it. It is not linked to from their standard pages and they would not tell me the phone number, event hough I asked for it several times. It never occurred to me to search for a contact page. Thanks.

    Mathew, I am looking for a load-balancing appliance. I want something that will do comprehensive load balancing between multiple servers, with failover, for the frontend of the site. I am looking at XGForge's LB100B and Coyote Point's E350. The E350 looks like a great unit and their customer service is great, but they want $3,500 for the unit. The XGForge unit is $1,589. Spending the extra money is going to hurt (A Lot!!!), but XGForge's customer service so far has been terrible. I am not familiar with their company and the way they have handled things so far is not instilling me with any confidence.

    I'm not sure what I will do. I appreciate the input though. Eric
  13. Ned Ludd

    Ned Ludd

    Dec 7, 2002
    The Beach

    that address is in an area of light industry and importers. almost all are from china. I've bought a lot of computer stuff from businesses in that area. They likely are not responding because no one speaks english. everyone in the area is chinese (or other asian group) of questionable immigration status. surprisingly, I've had really good luck with these places. But, I can walk into the store/factory/warehouse. You can expect to get no documentation if you buy from these guys. However, they are probably legit as far as the equitment goes.

    I don't know if that helps.