close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Ubuntu 10.04 released...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by IndyGunFreak, Apr 29, 2010.


  1. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Servers are really bogged down right now... The final was just put on the servers about 4hrs ago. Use the torrents to download the ISO's... They're going pretty strong at the moment.

    Installing software, etc.. is going to be VERY slow after you get installed, as I said, the servers are getting hammered. If that bothers you, hold off 3-4 days, and things should settle down to normal.

    Enjoy.. :)

    IGF
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Slug71

    Slug71
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    4,499
    10
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    Now the wait for Maverick Meerkat begins. :supergrin:

    Toolchain should be up in a week or so.
     

  3. Furant

    Furant
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 1999
    441
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Sweet. Time to try out Mythbuntu Lucid Lynx.
     
  4. TBO

    TBO
    Expand Collapse
    Why so serious?
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    43,220
    12,244
    Location:
    3500 Cedar Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55407
    Thanks for the heads up and advice. :wavey:
     
  5. GenX

    GenX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    511
    38
    Location:
    Idaho
    Started with the beta 2 and kept up with updates. 22 seconds to boot and about 4 to 5 seconds to shut down. The only bugs that haven't been corrected by me, are sometimes when shutting down, machine will go to a login screen. Wont restart or shutdown unless I press and hold the power button. The other is an error probing SMB2, but with the boot and shut down times cant complain. I like it so far.
     
  6. aircarver

    aircarver
    Expand Collapse
    Ride Continues
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    27,420
    3,113
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, Republic of Texas
    I've been running the beta since the heads-up it was out.

    It's worked great !

    It's had a jillion updates, so I probably won't change it out for the released version....:supergrin:
     
  7. zackwatt

    zackwatt
    Expand Collapse
    That's a Bingo!
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    4,527
    0
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I updated today, and I love it so far...

    There is a definite performance improvement!
     
  8. shnifty

    shnifty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    277
    0
    I haven't used ubuntu for about a year. I made the mistake of updating versions and it broke my video ATI video drivers horribly and I lost motivation :(

    Eventually I'll get a new Ubuntu machine up and running.
     
  9. SIGSAREBETTER

    SIGSAREBETTER
    Expand Collapse
    Teh Pieman

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    1,057
    1
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    And I just got Karmic Koala going strong.......oh well I'm a sucker for the new stuff.
     
  10. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    That problem, seems specific to a couple of chipsets. I know there's a bug report on it, but honestly, I've not experienced it on any of my machines. I know there's some people, it happens all the time.

    What error w/ SMB2?... Never really used it, but I've not saw much mentioned about it.

    aircarver -- If you've been keeping your machine up to date, you should be current, and there's no need to reinstall... run sudo apt-get upgrade and sudo apt-get dist-upgrade . If those install any kernel upgrades, when its done, run sudo update-grub and let it do its thing.

    Once that is done, you should be up to date and with the current version.

    IGF
     
  11. Linux3

    Linux3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    1,399
    0
    Reboot then run:
    sudo apt-get autoremove
    Look for packages that are installed as dependency of an already uninstalled package and removes them.

    sudo apt-get autoclean
    removes all stored archives in your cache for packages that can not be downloaded anymore (thus packages that are no longer in the repo or that have a newer version in the repo).
     
  12. The Habit

    The Habit
    Expand Collapse
    كافر

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    890
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Upgraded to 10.04 from 9.10 this morning and set up my Ubuntu One account. I haven't benchmarked the startup times but all is well so far. Now I just have to upgrade my wife's laptop and all three of my kids' laptops.

    We've been a Linux family for quite awhile now; I became very weary of constantly removing malware from the family's laptops. Now, if someone could perfect iTunes running under Wine my kids wouldn't ever have to boot into Windows again.
     
  13. Linux3

    Linux3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    1,399
    0
    Just finished upgrading my main desktop. Still have to do my wife's system and 2 laotops.
    My server stays at CentOS. If it aint broke....
     
  14. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    You could probably find a way to get around that, if they are only using it to sync Ipods. Vbox is an awesome and powerful thing. All I use it for is syncing Zunes and Ipods..

    IGF
     
  15. aircarver

    aircarver
    Expand Collapse
    Ride Continues
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    27,420
    3,113
    Location:
    Ft. Worth, Republic of Texas
    Had installed everything suggested by the k-package manager.
    First one, nothing necessary.
    Second, one package (Kopete) replaced.
    No kernal upgrades, not run.

    Four kernal headers removed.

    About two pages of 'junk' tossed.

    Thank You Gentlemen :thumbsup:


    :supergrin:
     
  16. TBO

    TBO
    Expand Collapse
    Why so serious?
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    43,220
    12,244
    Location:
    3500 Cedar Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55407
    Netbook booted up by CD, looks good. Web browsing seems snappier than what I remember from 9.10.

    Looks like I need to make time to partition install this on my Netbook. :thumbsup:
     
  17. Slug71

    Slug71
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    4,499
    10
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    You could try Banshee instead of Rhythmbox for syncing. Ive heard it does a pretty good job. I think Banshee might be default from 10.10 too.
     
  18. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Depends on the iPod really. Some iPods, work really well under Linux(mostly older ones). Others, don't work so well(Touch, Classic, etc.).

    It can be overcome quite easily. My Nano that I use at the Gym took a dump on me, and I got a great deal on a refurbished 8gig Zune. I love my 80gig Zune, but there is no hope on either of these ever working w/ Linux for the forseeable future. Running XP as a virtual OS solved this perfectly, and works equally well w/ the iPods in my experience.
     
  19. ki4dmh

    ki4dmh
    Expand Collapse
    Glock Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    816
    0
    Location:
    Living in the Peach State
    I Love Ubuntu but could never get it to work wireless on my laptop. So I had to revert back to the Vista crap.
     
  20. SIGSAREBETTER

    SIGSAREBETTER
    Expand Collapse
    Teh Pieman

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    1,057
    1
    Location:
    Tacoma, Washington
    2nd day with it installed.......installing Hulu and Flash was a little harder than 9.04 but so far so good.