close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Two problems w/ Win7 (64)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by RDW, Mar 29, 2010.


  1. RDW

    RDW
    Expand Collapse
    BTDT

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    2,500
    0
    Location:
    PRK
    1. After RE-LOADING Win7 I get message errors when Windows finishes loading.
    Can't open AsIO.sys!! (2). When I cancel the mesages every "seems" to be cool.

    What's goin on?

    2. NOW i'm getting a desktop icon, and program called HomeGroup.

    How do I get rid of the icon/program? - I'll never use it.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,945
    132
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    What is the maker on the computer... this error message has been reported in Vista as well...


    Drag the icon/shortcut to the trash, and don't worry about un-installing it.
     

  3. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    #3 kc8ykd, Mar 29, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2010
  4. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,945
    132
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Yah, it would be really cool if his system was an ASUS brand... There is a fix for it then! :winkie:
     
  5. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    doesn't need to be asus brand, just to have the asus software uninstalled.

    I've even got an asus mobo in this hp machine i'm using at the moment, sneaky fellows
     
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
  7. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    sevenforums is a good place for info on win 7. i created an account with them like a year ago when i starting beta testing 7
     
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Same here, I find all kinds of useful info over there ...
     
  9. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    sometimes i get pissed because my network connections die and i have to reboot where as in XP a simple ipconfig command fixes the issue. Also, sometimes when ripping movies for backup purposes, if the movie fails the rip, it will like "de-mount" my drive and i have to reboot. I don't know it's weird. I might want to try and find a better driver for my board for the nic though
     
    #9 MavsX, Mar 30, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  10. RDW

    RDW
    Expand Collapse
    BTDT

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    2,500
    0
    Location:
    PRK


    It is!
     
  11. RDW

    RDW
    Expand Collapse
    BTDT

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    2,500
    0
    Location:
    PRK