close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Top 3 powder picks for 45acp

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by JDinNC, Apr 10, 2010.

1. My Hornady Handbook of Cartridge Reloading book has 11 powders for a 230 gr. FMJ. What do YOU think are the best 3 powders for it? I'm thinking about making a batch for each. It looks like the best powders would fill up the cases most so there's not a whole lot of air space in there? I AM a total newbie. I havent reloaded before. I just got a Hornady press. TYIA

Last edited: Apr 10, 2010
  2. I've used 700-X for decades now with great results.

3. YamaLink

YamaLink

Mar 11, 2010
    I only used Accurate #2. Clean, accurate, good recoil and very inexpensive. About $18 per pound locally. Everything else is about $22.

4. ssgrock3

ssgrock3

Aug 10, 2003
    Yukon, Oklahoma
    clays, clays and even more clays.....I see someone uses Unique..it is my favorite for 9mm, and .38, haven't tried any .45's with it... what are you putting it under?

5. Blaster

Blaster Hunc tu caveto

Feb 2, 2000
    Connecticut
    Unique.

Under 230 gn. FMJ, 230 gn. LRN, 200 gn SWC & 200 gn. lead hollow base round nose.

6. D. Manley

D. Manley

May 30, 2005
    Southern US