close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Toolbars (Bing, Google, AVG)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Green_Manelishi, Apr 17, 2010.


  1. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi
    Expand Collapse
    Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    4,716
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    How to deactive, etc. those tool bars, under Vista. I don't use them, don't want them. Thanks.

    Oh and uh .... I really don't need the temptation of considering a SSD.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
  3. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    Oh I think the AVG tool bar may be a bit difficult. If so, you can uninstall AVG completely and reinstall AVG using advanced options and/or unchecking the tool bar install during the installation.
     
  4. Green_Manelishi

    Green_Manelishi
    Expand Collapse
    Knicker Knotter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    4,716
    0
    Location:
    On the edge but not quite over ...
    Thanks. I can live with the AVG bar.
     
  5. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,134
    13
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    After you uninstall those stupid toolbars, download & install Google's Chrome browser.

    I've used IE8 (obviously the latest version) on a wide variety of computers and it sucks so badly it's not even funny. I've had some computers where IE wouldn't even connect to the internet, and Chrome was good to go right out of the box, so to speak.
     
  6. C.Lee

    C.Lee
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    212
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    If you are using IE8, click on "view" then "toolbars" and uncheck what you do not want.

    If you don't see the toolbar there, click on "tools" then "manage add ons" then click "toolbars and extensions" click the item you do not want and then click "disable".

    All the toolbars should be in one of these two locations.
     
  7. Slug71

    Slug71
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    4,499
    10
    Location:
    Oregon - U.S.A
    add/remove in control panel.
     
  8. Ericfi1

    Ericfi1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    12
    0
    remove all of the toolbars, they're used as spyware by the particular company to make it easier for them to track what you do and where you go.
    Just goto the control panel and add/remove programs and remove all of them, and remove google chrome while you're at it.. why make it easier for them to get the information on you?

    just uninstall it, and run CCleaner and let it do its job.