Glock Talk banner

throw them all out! thoughts?

9K views 32 replies 29 participants last post by  katana_user 
#1 ·
Your thoughts on the insider trading and totally corrupt government?

#2 ·
Government has been corrupt since the beginning. We simply have more readily available information with which to observe it. Internet, 24 hour news channels and partisan politics have made the government far more transparent than it's ever been.

I don't think they've changed much......I just think we're better educated now.

#3 ·
I am having a hard time with this. When a politition brings pork to my depressed area it feels pretty good and yet I know it is wrong. I am a true independant but I am thinking vote out all incumbents or put in a time limit to serve. I studied a couple of Senators and it is hard not to get bitter. One Senator from Nevada started his career with very little money and over his 30 years he has become a Multi Million aire. You can not save that kind of money on a Senators salary. Then when looking I found many IPO's were offered to legislators before the public and often the public didn't get to purchase any of the stock and it was often related to a recent vote or an upcoming vote on the industry that was offering the IPO. Pelossi ruling on legislation effecting a Bank her husband sits on the board.
These things make me believe we should vote the whole bunch out at least the lobbyists will have to start working harder to corrupt the new members of congress and the senate.
Regardless of your views just getting out and voting is a very good thing.
Respectfully,
Bill

#4 ·
Only problem with term limits, is that unless you also limit the time that staff can work on Capitol Hill, it will do very little. These members of congress have no idea what to do without staff telling them. Some of these staffers are there for 15-20-25 years. They really call the shots. Term limiting the members will only make the staffers more powerfull.