close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Thinking of getting a 1911...

Discussion in '1911 Forums' started by hfdg26, Jul 26, 2011.

1. hfdg26

hfdg26

Apr 11, 2010
    As the title says I'm strongly considering getting a 1911. I have little to no experience with the 1911. I shot 8 rounds through a Taurus 1911, that's it. That's my experience. I have a buddy that is selling his Colt Defender and I got bit by the bug. But I want to do my research before I jump in and buy something. His Defender was purchased in '02. And from what I read online is that Colt's don't like 230gr JHP. Which I'd what I want for personal defense. I read you have to run 185gr. FMJ. Is this true? Does the commander have the same issues? This is a MAJOR sticking point with me and getting a colt. Would a newer gun be better in this case? Do Springfields and Kimbers have the same problems? I know I'm asking a lot of questions, but I'm just trying to start out in the right direction. Thanks.

2. MajorD

MajorD

Aug 16, 2010
    there are lots of personal opinions on 1911's probably more than anything and I'll give you some of mine after the following statement which is often repeated by many top tier 1911 gunsmiths:
    every time you shorten the slide of a 1911 from the original 5 inch barrel length it creates the potential for more functioning problems due to geometry mass working pressures etc.
    ANY short 1911 regardless of brand is more likely to have functional issue than the full length 1911.

Your first 1911 should be a full length gun. It will more likely be reliable and accurate and easier to hit with to build your handgunning confidence.

All 1911's except maybe the high end custom makers will have various likes or dislikes in reliability/accuracy with different ammo. the same could be said for all guns.

don't get hung up on one bullet weight - theres no reason not to carry a well designed 185 or 200 grain hp if that is what the gun runs best.