close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Theory: PB Blaster is a great ant killer / deterrent

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Kevin108, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Kevin108

Kevin108 file_id.diz

Last summer I was having a problem with ants in my garage - mostly in the walk-in door. I tried the ant traps first. The ones I placed inside helped but the squirrels or something stole the ones I had outside. (I found them all over the yard chewed up.)

I then tried some expensive spray which smelled amazing but only worked for a few days per application.

Then I started playing mad scientist and trying everything in my garage: Simple Green, Windex, ATF, gasoline, etc. I finally got around to trying PB Blaster. Eureka! No ants since.

Last fall I built a 6' wood privacy fence. When the weather broke this year, I started seeing ants on the bottom rail. I PB blasted it; no more ants. That was a couple months ago. Yesterday I spotted a convoy of them along the middle rail. They figured out how to climb the neighbor's shrub to bypass the bottom of the fence. Another round of PB Blaster!

Anyway, if any of you are able, feel free to help me test this new application for a basic penetrating oil. :D

2. GLWyandotte

GLWyandotte Señor Member

My father in law has used wd40 for this for years. Kinda tough on the plants though.

3. John Rambo

John Rambo Raven

Thats a 'bad' idea.

Buy a bottle of DemonMax and a sprayer instead. Works on ants, bugs, birds, snakes, small mammals, your neighbor's kids, you name it.

Last edited: Apr 18, 2012
  4. Ironbar

Ironbar

Terro Liquid Ant bait is the best stuff I've used in years. Kept having a colony of sugar ants appear in our kitchen every Spring. Used the Terro this year, and within 1 week- colony dead.

5. Dennis in MA

Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

I pay $150/q for some guy to spray the bleep outta my house, check rodent traps, etc.,