close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

System 32 question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by alphacat, Jul 12, 2007.


  1. alphacat

    alphacat
    Expand Collapse
    account deleted

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    3,202
    0
    Every time I run AVG virus scan the first thing that comes up is

    Object- C:\windows\system 32\kernel 32.DLL

    result- Change

    Status- Changed

    Is this a good or a bad thing? Should I do anything about it?
    Have I done something wrong?


    :headscratch:
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Is it Windows 98 or ME?
     

  3. alphacat

    alphacat
    Expand Collapse
    account deleted

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    3,202
    0
    XP pro
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  5. SBD

    SBD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    1,618
    0
    Location:
    Northeast
    I recommend reinstalling your AVG software, updating it (i.e. downloading the latest virus definition files), and then trying to run it successfully without the error message appearing.

    Windows and Windows-based programs are unfortunately quite prone to cryptic error messages. Then again, alot of software is.
     
  6. alphacat

    alphacat
    Expand Collapse
    account deleted

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    3,202
    0
    Nope, none of those things worked. It still comes up when I do a scan.
     
  7. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Grisoft, the makers of AVG say as long as the report only shows a change and not "Infacted" you shouldn't worry about it.

     
  8. alphacat

    alphacat
    Expand Collapse
    account deleted

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    3,202
    0
    The f3 key thing did it. Thanks, it was a pain in the you know what when it kept showing up.