close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Stupid and easy Outlook question.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by vart, Dec 25, 2004.


  1. vart

    vart
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    11,063
    1,020
    Location:
    The Palouse
    I get email responses when one of my GT threads gets replied to. I end up getting about 5-15 of these emails every couple of hours.
    For almost 5 years I have been clicking on the link in the email to take me to that particular thread.
    The link would take me to a page that replaced the page I was previously viewing.
    Now, for some reason, when I click on the link, it opens up a whole new window for each thread, leaving me with multiple pages of GT on my computer in seperate windows.
    How do I get it to just replace the page I was viewing??
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    What browser are you using. It is probably a setting in the browser rather than outlook. But I may be wrong.
     

  3. 0100010

    0100010
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    562
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    If you are using Internet Explorer, go to Tools menu - Internet Options - Advanced Tab - (about 17 items down the list) toggle the checkbox for "Reuse windows when launching shortcuts"
     
  4. Toyman

    Toyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    2,597
    20
    Location:
    West Michigan
    I have this annoyance also, but don't know how to fix it.

    But on 0100010's note:

    Description of the Reuse Windows for Launching Shortcuts Setting in Internet Explorer 5.01
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=241911
    "...Similarly, clicking hyperlinks in e-mail programs such as in Microsoft Outlook and Microsoft Outlook Express always opens a new instance of Internet Explorer..."
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Are you sure that your GT User's CP doesn't have the option for EMail Notification activated somewhere? I know there is a tickbox for it right below this composition window, but I think you can specify it as Always On in there. Something to check.

    Also, if you are trying to surf the Web with Internet Exploder, you should reconsider. Try Mozilla and see if the problem persists.
     
  6. vart

    vart
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    11,063
    1,020
    Location:
    The Palouse
    It was already toggled, unchecked it, then checked it again and hit apply, and it still didn't fix it. :(
     
  7. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
  8. erikd65

    erikd65
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    75
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington
    Firefox
     
  9. winchester62

    winchester62
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    734
    47
    I have a different but similar problem. When I click one of the links, it doesn't do ANYTHING except sound a double tone (like a warning tone or something). It worked up until two days ago, now when I click one, I don't get crap!! Any idea if a win-doze update or something is F-ing this feature up? No hotlinks work from ANY of my emails now...
     
  10. 0100010

    0100010
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    562
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Probably need to re-create your file assocication action for a URL.

    First thing to check for is to make sure that Internet Explorer is the default browser on the computer. Open Internet Explorer, click on “Tools”, click on “Internet Options.” On the “Programs” tab, make sure there is a check in the box next to, “Internet Explorer should check to see whether it is the default browser.” If this is checked then go to the next step. If it is not checked, put a check in the box, click “OK”, close Internet Explorer, and reopen it. When you are prompted to make Internet Explorer the default browser, click “Yes.” If these steps do not work, go to the next step.
    The main reason this problem happens is because the action that is supposed to happen when the hyperlink is clicked has become corrupted. Go to My Computer, click “Tools” (in Windows 98 go to View, Folder Options), click “Folder Options”, then click on the “File Types” tab. In the “File Types” column, look for “URL: Hypertext Transfer Protocol.” Click on this item, and click the “Advanced” button (in Windows 98 click Edit) at the bottom of the screen. In the “Actions” box click on “open”, and over on the right click the “Remove” button. After removing that item click the “New” button. In the “Action” text box type “open” without the quotes. In the “Application used to perform action” text box type: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" –nohome with the quotes in their respective places. Next, place a check in the “Use DDE” checkbox. In the “DDE Message” text box type: "%1",,-1,0,,,, with the quotes. In the “Application” text box type: Iexplore with no quotes. Leave the “DDE Application not running” text box blank, and in the “Topic” text box type: WWW_OpenURL with no quotes. Click OK on all open windows and try the hyperlinks again. You should get an Internet Explorer window displaying the page you just clicked the link for.
     
  11. winchester62

    winchester62
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    734
    47
    Thanks. I tried that first, then when that didn't work, I used the "go back" feature of XP. Problem solved.... for now at least. Thanks for the long post to help though. I appreciate it!!