close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Strange discovery firefox memory

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by silentpoet, Oct 25, 2008.


  1. silentpoet

    silentpoet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    24,965
    9,785
    Location:
    This Old Caddy
    I just found out that a new window seems to use less ram than a new tab in firefox. I need to do some more testing, but according to task manager and in windows 2000 a new window uses a significantly lower amount of ram than a new tab. Say 20-30 megs less. I need to be more thorough about seeing if this is right, but if so I am leaning towards going this way because new windows are more convenient than new tabs because you can alt tab between them.
     
  2. Jtemple

    Jtemple
    Expand Collapse
    Geek

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    788
    0
    Location:
    NE
    You can CTRL-Tab through tabs in Firefox. You can even customize the CTRL-Tab feature and make it look however you'd like. RAM is cheap. I'll give up a little RAM for a cleaner desktop.
     

  3. Blitzer

    Blitzer
    Expand Collapse
    Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    12,111
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    An interesting point but a nearly a non issue today.

    HMM, your point appears moot when considering most new computers have a resource of 2gb of RAM.

    :dunno:

    Video memory is used up by the second browser which is in a more limited but with 256MG of video memory again it is a moot point.

    Your observations miss that point. ;)
     
  4. silentpoet

    silentpoet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    24,965
    9,785
    Location:
    This Old Caddy
    This computer is not all that new. I do have a 256 MB graphics card, but only 512 of ram.