close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Stop a program from running automatically when Windows starts?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Z71bill, Nov 1, 2010.


  1. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas
    My PC is really running slow - takes forever for pages in GT to load -

    I started looking at what may be wrong - decided to check what is automatically starting when Windows starts up - (may or may not be my problem)

    I try to click on this

    "Click to open Windows Defender"

    I get a message

    "Windows defender is turned off"

    So I click on "turn on Windows defender"

    I get an error message - 0x800106ba

    I can't get to my list of things that starts up automatically

    Any ideas appreciated.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. brausso

    brausso
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    1,932
    1
    Location:
    Puget Sound
    Go to Run and type in msconfig and then go to startup
     

  3. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
  4. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    If you have Microsoft Security Essentials installed it disables Windows Defender as it replaces it in function and they can't run together. With Windows XP you may be able to uninstall Windows Defender but not with Windows Vista. If you had Windows Security Essentials installed before, it most likely disabled Windows Defender.
     
  5. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,910
    97
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
  6. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas

    I have Windows Security Essentials and Vista.
     
  7. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas
    I installed Malwarebytes ran it and got about a dozen sites - about 8 from a place with "funsite" something

    Took forever for my PC to reboot after running Malwarebytes - I rebooted again and it seems like time to reboot is back to normal.

    I also installed technet.microsoft.com - ran the application - and am not smart enough to use the data it provides - details details -
     
    #7 Z71bill, Nov 2, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    ... then use MSCONFIG - Startup tab ... uncheck everything you don't need, if you are unsure about something Google it. The only thing you NEED to load at Start up is your Antivirus/firewall software and any other spyware/malware protection utilities you may have installed.


    If you don't already have it, install and run ccleaner ... http://www.piriform.com/
     
  9. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas

    I went to msconfig and finally was able to cut off a few things from auto start - things I know I don't need

    I just have that fear - if I stop something from auto starting that when i turn my PC on I will just get a blank screen. :embarassed:

    I now it is not logical - but I am pretty sure other face the same feeling.

    I will give piriform a shot -


    I have been to a couple other web sites today besides GT - and they seem to run faster - it is GT that is the slowest BY FAR -:dunno:
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    You can always go back into MSCONFIG and turn items back on if the computer starts acting up.



    Run disk cleanup and ccleaner, rescan your system in SAFE Mode and then defrag it.
     
  11. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas

    How do I rescan in safe mode? Figured it out. Thanks
     
    #11 Z71bill, Nov 2, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
  12. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Restart the computer and start tapping the F8 key just before Windows loads, Windows Advanced Boot Options Menu will appear, select Safe Mode ... if you begin tapping the F8 key too soon the computer may display a "keyboard error" message.

    OR

    Go back into MSCONFIG - on the Boot tab check the Safe Boot option and then click OK, restart your computer.

    Windows will only load basic drivers, launch Malwarebytes and scan
     
  13. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    After installing Windows Security Essentials Windows, Windows Defender will no longer function. Windows Security Essentials should be better.

    if you have a blank CD-R (not a CD-RW) or a blank DVD, you can burn the Avira Antivir CD. After the download, which is large, double click the download with the blank CD in the CD writer. It should start to write the CD. Make sure the computer is set to boot from CD and restart the computer. Depending on your connection it may or may not beable to download updates. They really aren't needed as the CD download is always updated. Run a full scan and maybe don't try for updates as a recent CD download should be updated.

    Download CD (about 78 MB)

    Automatic CD writing in Windows

    http://dlpro.antivir.com/package/rescue_system/common/en/rescue_system-common-en.exe

    Plain CD iso (not needed if automatic version above is used)

    http://dlpro.antivir.com/package/rescue_system/common/en/rescue_system-common-en.iso
     
  14. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
  15. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas
    I got a letter from my internet provider (Comcast)

    The letter said I have an old style model and it must be replaced.

    I installed the new modem - and now my PC is even slower -

    I have Comcast schedules to come out today and try and figure it out -

    Thanks for the help..
     
  16. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Be sure to let us know what they say ...
     
  17. Z71bill

    Z71bill
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    14,005
    1,118
    Location:
    Texas
    The cable guy reset the modem (I had already done this several times)

    He also removed the surge protector I was using for the incoming cable feed & the connections between the modem & router.

    It helped a little - he said I do not need surge protection on these items.

    After taking a direct lighting hit a few years ago and blowing out my phone, Internet, PC & printer I am not so sure.
     
    #17 Z71bill, Nov 4, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2010
  18. Ogreon

    Ogreon
    Expand Collapse
    unlisted

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    776
    0
    There's a program called Winpatrol. It will give a warning anytime a program adds something to autorun. There are a few programs which will turn the autorun back on if you disable it. With Winpatrol you can deny it each time. Usually the autorun simply speeds up opening of the program or provides automatic updates.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Stop Vids From Loading Automatically Tech Talk Jun 18, 2014
Running from a tornado Survival/Preparedness Forum Jun 23, 2013
Need help with a windows script/DOS program Tech Talk Aug 31, 2012
HELP! Windows Media Player automatically starts up when computer is turned on Tech Talk Aug 10, 2005
Sounds Plays When Opening A Certain Program! Tech Talk Apr 16, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus