close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Sound/Volume Leveling

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Gecko10, Jan 2, 2005.


  1. Gecko10

    Gecko10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    352
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I'm making some "Favorites" CD's, burning different tracks from various, digital sources (purchased and downloaded music). I'm using Roxio's CD & DVD Creator V6.

    Is there some simple software out there that will allow me to adjust (level) the sound/volume of the many different tracts I'm using?

    Most of the stuff I've looked at looks very complicated.
     
  2. sdakota

    sdakota
    Expand Collapse
    señor member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    74
    0
    Location:
    Here, Now
    I found a really good free one called Mp3Gain at http://mp3gain.sourceforge.net/

    I found it very easy to use, plus the way it levels the volume is much smarter than the other apps I waded through. Most of them just clip off the loudest sounds, but this one analyzes the entire song and adjusts everything accordingly. It tries to adjust the volume based on how loud it sounds to the human ear.
    The changes can be easily backed out if you choose.
    There's also a feature to adjust the tracks of an album so the same volume relative to the album is preserved.

    Just follow these steps:
    1. Select the files you want using the "Add Files" button.
    2. Run "Track Analysis" to check each files volume.
    3. Run "Track Gain" to change them all to the level you choose as the "target normal volume".

    Let me know if you would like more info.

    Hope this helps !
     

  3. Gecko10

    Gecko10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    352
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Thanks sdakota!! I'll check it out and I am sure will have more questions.

    I assume it will work on other formats like .cda or .wma?
     
  4. Gecko10

    Gecko10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    352
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Looks like I will have to convert everything to MP3. No big deal as I'm just getting started on this "winter" project.
     
  5. sdakota

    sdakota
    Expand Collapse
    señor member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    74
    0
    Location:
    Here, Now
    Gecko, I'm sorry, I didn't see your last question there.
    I didn't mean to ignore ya !

    As you discovered, it looks like no WMA support there.

    There are many WMA-to-MP3 converters (some are free), but I have no experience with them.

    In my opinion, MP3 is a better protocol than WMA anyway.
    If nothing else, at least MP3 isn't owned by Microsoft !

    Best of luck !